2.8
Similar Books Like The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 Alternatives
The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72   
About: Mary Delany was seventy-two years old when she noticed a petal drop from a geranium. In a flash of inspiration, she picked up her scissors and slash out a paper replica of the petal, inventing the art of collage. It was the summer of 1772, in England. During the next ten years she finished nearly a thousand slash-paper botanicals (which she named mosaicks) so accurate that botanists still refer to them. Poet-biographer Molly Peacock uses close-ups of these brilliant collages in The Paper Garden to track the extraordinary life of Delany, dude of Swift, Handel, Hogarth, and even Queen Charlotte and Boss George III.How did this remarkable role model for late blooming manage it? After a disastrous teenage marriage to a drunken sixty-one-year-old squire, she took control of her own life, pursuing constructive projects, spurning suitors, and gaining dudes. At forty-three, she married Jonathan ... Show more
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / Artists, Architects, Photographers Rotten Tomatoes® score: 2.8 Audio language: English Authors: Molly Peacock Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Books like The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 Similar Books

The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72:
Similar Books Like Becoming Superman: My Journey From Poverty to Hollywood Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Featuringan introduction by Neil Gaiman!J. Michael Straczynski is, without question, one of the greatest science fiction minds of our time. -- Max Brooks (World War Z)For four decades, J. Michael Straczynski has been one of the most successful writers in Hollywood, one of the few to forge multiple careers in movies, television and comics. Yet theres one story hes never told before: his own.In this dazzling memoir, the acclaimed writer behind Babylon 5, Sense8, Clint Eastwoods Changeling...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: J. Michael Straczynski Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far on Foot Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Nowa major motion picture directed by Gus Van Sant and starring Joaquin Phoenix, Jonah Hill, and Rooney MaraFeaturing more than 60 of Callahan's original cartoonsWhen people laugh like hell and then say, Thats not funny, you can be pretty sure theyre talking about John Callahan.P.J. ORourkeIn 1972, at the age of 21, John Callahan was involved in a car crash that severed his spine and made him a quadriplegic. A heavy drinker since the age of 12 (alcohol had played a role in his crash), ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: John Callahan and David Kelly Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like Last of His Kind: The Life and Adventures of Bradford Washburn, America's Boldest Mountaineer Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Stunning and stirring.Boston GlobeIn The Last of His Kind, renowned adventure writer David Roberts gives readers a spellbinding history of mountain climbing in the twentieth century as told through the biography of Brad Washburn, legendary mountaineering pioneer and photographer. Jon Krakauer, author of Into Thin Air, has praised David Roberts, saying, Nobody alive writes better about mountaineeringand nowhere is that truth more evident than in this breathtaking account of the life and ex... Audio language: English Authors: David Roberts Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of Emily Carr Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Emily Carrs journals from 1927 to 1941 portray the happy, productive period when she was able to resume painting after dismal years of raising dogs and renting out rooms to pay the bills. These revealing entries convey her passionate connection with nature, her struggle to find her voice as a writer, and her vision and philosophy as a painter....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Emily Carr Publisher: D & M Publishers

Similar Books Like The Noble Approach: Maurice Noble and the Zen of Animation Design Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This extraordinary volume examines the life and animation philosophy of Maurice Noble, the noted American animation background artist and layout designer whose contributions to the industry span more than 60 years and include such cartoon classics as Duck Dodgers in the 24 th Century, What's Opera, Doc?, and The Road Runner Show. Revered throughout the animation world, his work serves as a foundation and reference point for the current generation of animators, story artists, and designers. Writ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Tod Polson Publisher: Chronicle Books

Similar Books Like Escaping the Delta: Robert Johnson and the Invention of the Blues Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The life of blues legend Robert Johnson becomes the centerpiece for this innovative look at what many consider to be America's deepest and most influential music genre. Pivotal are the questions surrounding why Johnson was ignored by the core black audience of his time yet now celebrated as the greatest figure in blues history.Trying to separate myth from reality, biographer Elijah Wald studies the blues from the inside -- not only examining recordings but also the recollections of the musicians...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Elijah Wald Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Super Boys: The Amazing Adventures of Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster--the Creators of Superman Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In time for the 75th anniversary of the Man of Steel, comes the first comprehensive literary biography of Joe Shuster and Jerry Siegel, creators of the DC Comics superhero Superman and the inspiration for Michael Chabon's Kavalier and Clay Drawing on ten years of research in the trenches of Cleveland libraries, boarded-up high schools, and secret, private collections, and a love of comic books, Brad Ricca's Super Boys is the first ever full biography about Superman's creators. Among scores of ne...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Brad Ricca Publisher: St. Martin's Press

 

Similar Books Like Ansel Adams: An Autobiography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In this bestselling autobiography, completed shortly before his death in 1984, Ansel Adams looks back at his legendary six-decade career as a conservationist, teacher, musician, and, above all, photographer. Written with characteristic warmth, vigor, and wit, this fascinating account brings to life the infectious enthusiasms, fervent battles, and bountiful friendships of a truly American original....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Ansel Adams and Mary Street Alinder Publisher: Little, Brown

Similar Books Like Leonardo da Vinci Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The #1 New York Times bestseller from Walter Isaacson brings Leonardo da Vinci to life in this exciting new biography that is a study in creativity: how to define it, how to achieve itMost important, it is a powerful story of an exhilarating mind and life (The New Yorker).Based on thousands of pages from Leonardo da Vincis astonishing notebooks and new discoveries about his life and work, Walter Isaacson deftly reveals an intimate Leonardo (San Francisco Chronicle) in a narrative that conn...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Walter Isaacson Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Roald Dahl: A Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A New York Times Notable Book: A revealing look at the famous twentieth-century childrens author who brought us The BFG and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Few writers have had the enduring cultural influence of Roald Dahl, who inspired generations of loyal readers. Acclaimed biographer Jeremy Treglown cuts no corners in humanizing this longstanding immortal of juvenile fiction. Roald Dahl explores this master of childrens literature from childhoodfocusing a tight lens on the relationship...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jeremy Treglown Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like What's So Great About Walt Disney?: A Biography of Walt Disney Just for Kids! Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Walt Disney was a man who had both an incredible artistic talent and a powerful imagination. His career as an artist began when he was just seven years old, living with his family in Marceline, Missouri. You may know his name, but perhaps you've wondered, "What's so great about him?"This book (part of the Whats So Great About) series, gives kids insight into life, times and career of Walt Disney....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sam Rogers Publisher: KidLit-O Press

Similar Books Like Caveat Emptor: The Secret Life of an American Art Forger Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The astonishing true story of Americas most accomplished art forger: a kid from New Jersey who became a master, fooling experts and eluding the FBI for thirty years.Ten years ago, an FBI investigation in conjunction with the U.S. Attorneys Office in the Southern District of New York was about to expose a scandal in the art world that would have been front-page news in New York and London. After a trail of fake paintings of astonishing quality led federal agents to art dealers, renowned expert...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Ken Perenyi Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like Walt Before Mickey: Disney's Early Years, 1919-1928 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: For ten years before the creation of Mickey Mouse, Walt Disney struggled with, failed at, and eventually mastered the art and business of animation. Most biographies of his career begin in 1928, when Steamboat Willie was released. That first Disney Studio cartoon with synchronized sound made its main character--Mickey Mouse--an icon for generations.But Steamboat Willie was neither Disney's first cartoon nor Mickey Mouse's first appearance. Prior to this groundbreaking achievement, Walt Disney wo...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Timothy S. Susanin Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

Similar Books Like James Baldwin: A Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: James Baldwin was one of the great writers of the last century. In works that have become part of the American canonGo Tell It on a Mountain, Giovannis Room, Another Country, The Fire Next Time, and The Evidence of Things Not Seenhe explored issues of race and racism in America, class distinction, and sexual difference. A gay, African American writer who was born in Harlem, he found the freedom to express himself living in exile in Paris. When he returned to America to cover the Civil Rights ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Leeming Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico City in 1942, the oldest of 13 children. When tragedy struck Iturbide as a young mother, she turned to photography for solace and understanding. From then on Iturbide embarked on a photographic journey that has taken her throughout her native Mexico, from the Sonora Desert to Juchitn to Frida Kahlos bathroom, to the United States, India, and beyond.Photographicis a symbolic, poetic, and deeply personal graphic biography of this iconic photographer. Iturbi...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Isabel Quintero Publisher: Getty Publications

Similar Books Like The System Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: It has been said that the flutter of insect wings in the Indian Ocean can send a hurricane crashing against the shores of the American Northeast, and such a premise lies at the core of The System, a wordless graphic novel created and painted by award-winning illustrator Peter Kuper. A sleazy stockbroker is lining his pockets, a corrupt cop is shaking down drug dealers, a mercenary bomber is setting the timer, a serial killer is stalking strippers, a political scandal is about to explode, the pla...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Peter Kuper Publisher: PM Press

Similar Books Like Holy Terror: Andy Warhol Close Up Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In the 1960s, Andy Warhols paintings redefined modern art. His films provoked heated controversy, and his Factory was a hangout for the avant-garde. In the 1970s, after Valerie Solanass attempt on his life, Warhol become more entrepreneurial, aligning himself with the rich and famous. Bob Colacello, the editor of Warhols Interview magazine, spent that decade by Andys side as employee, collaborator, wingman, and confidante. In these pages, Colacello takes us there with Andy: into the Factory...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Bob Colacello Publisher: Vintage

Similar Books Like Shutterbabe: Adventures in Love and War Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: What if the protagonist in that age-old taleboy goes to war, comes back a manwere a female? Shutterbabe, Deborah Copaken Kogan's remarkable debut, is just that: the story of a twenty-two-year-old girl from Potomac, Maryland, who goes off to photograph wars and comes back, four years and one too many adventures later, a woman.In 1988, fresh out of Harvard, Kogan moved to Paris with a small backpack, a couple of cameras, the hubris of a superhero, and a strong thirst for danger. She wanted to se...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Deborah Copaken Kogan Publisher: Villard

Similar Books Like M Train Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: National Best SellerFrom the National Book Awardwinning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the prism of the cafs and haunts she has worked in around the world. It is a book Patti Smith has described as a roadmap to my life. M Train begins in the tiny Greenwich Village caf where Smith goes every morning for black coffee, ruminates on the world as it is and the world as it was, and writes in her notebook. Through prose that shifts fluidly betwee...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Patti Smith Publisher: Vintage

Similar Books Like A Hungry Heart: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Gordon Parks, acclaimed photographer, filmmaker, composer, and author of fiction and nonfiction, has participated in, been witness to, and documented many of the major events in the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries. Born in Fort Scott, Kansas, on November 30, 1912, he left home at age fifteen when his mother passed away. For the next twelve years, he lived in Minneapolis, Minnesota, working as a piano player, bus boy, Civilian Conservation Corpsman, and professional basketball player be...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Gordon Parks Publisher: Simon and Schuster

LOAD MORE

 


The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 Reviews and Comments:

Acclaimed poet Peacock (Second Blush, 2008, etc.) chronicles her fascination with the life of Mary Granville Pendarves Delany (1700-1788), a largely forgotten aristocrat who, at the age of 72, created ...
~ A Google user
"A life's work is usually unfinished and requires creativity till the day a person dies." Here, Toronto-based poet Peacock (The Second Blush) interleaves information of her own life with that of Mary ...
~ A Google user
I loved reading this: it's pretty, thought-provoking, witty, poignant, and occasionally strange and annoying. Mrs Delany becomes so vivid a presence that, even though we're given the date of her death on page 1, it was still startling when it arrived. And the flowers!
~ A Google user
This is a non-fiction ebook claiming the life storyline of Mary Granville Pendarves Delany. A young girl of the 18th century, living in London she is basically sold into marriage by her uncle to an old ...
~ A Google user
First, allow me claim that this actual, physical ebook is a treat. It's exactly what I wish when I spend dollars on a hardcover ebook. It's just a bit heavier than most ebooks and it's printed on high-quality ...
~ A Google user
Looking at the rose on the cover of this ebook, I knew I had seen it before, reproduced on a tons of equipment. I might even have written letters on notecards printed with its likeness. What I didn't ...
~ A Google user
The storyline behind this ebook is cute wonderful: talented, perceptive 18th-century girl rises above the crappy hand she's dealt and invents a newest art form. If this ebook had simply claimed Mary Delany's ...
~ A Google user
A ebook created to house rich full-color reproductions of Mary Delany's flower mosaiks, printed on powerful and soft matte paper. I like to think the size and heft of the ebook were decided on first, the ...
~ A Google user
well...this was not at all what i thought it would be. i was absolutely fascinated and engaged with the life, storyline and art of mary delany. but i was really not engaged with (or interested in) originator ...
~ A Google user