4.1
Similar Books Like The Name of the Rose Alternatives
The Name of the Rose   
About: Actually a series starring John Turturro as William of Baskerville airing on SundanceTV Umberto Ecos first novel, an international sensation and master of the Premio Strega and the Prix Mdicis tranger awards The year is 1327. Benedictines in a wealthy Italian abbey are suspected of heresy, and Brother William of Baskerville arrives to investigate. When his delicate target is suddenly overshadowed by seven bizarre deaths, Brother William turns detective. His softwares are the logic of Aristotle, the theology of Aquinas, the empirical insights of Roger Baconall sharpened to a glistening edge by wry humor and a ferocious curiosity. He collects evidence, deciphers secret symbols and coded manuscripts, and digs into the eerie labyrinth of the abbey, where the most interesting things happen at night. Like the labyrinthine library at its heart, this brilliant novel has many cunning passages an ... Show more
Genre: Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.1 Audio language: English Authors: Umberto Eco Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Books like The Name of the Rose and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like The Name of the Rose but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

The Name of the Rose Similar Books

The Name of the Rose similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like The Name of the Rose:
Similar Books Like The Perfect Wife (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book One) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Criminal profiler in training (and newlywed) Jessie Hunt, 29, discovers that dark secrets lurk in her new suburban town; when a body turns up dead, she finds herself caught in the crosshairs of her newfound friends, her husbands secrets, her serial killer caseloadand the secrets of her own dark past. In THE PERFECT WIFE (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense ThrillerBook One), Criminal profiler-in-training Jessie Hunt is sure she's finally put the darkness of her childhood behind her. She an...

Trailer:
Audio language: Englis Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like The 18th Abduction Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Detective Lindsay Boxer's investigation into the disappearance of three teachers quickly escalates from missing persons to murder in the newest Women's Murder Club thriller.For a trio of colleagues, an innocent night out after class ends in a deadly torture session. They vanish without a clue -- until a body turns up. With the safety of San Francisco's entire school system at stake, Lindsay has never been under more pressure. As the chief of police and the press clamor for an arrest in the "scho...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James Patterson and Maxine Paetro Publisher: Little, Brown

Similar Books Like Watching (The Making of Riley Paige—Book 1) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery! The author did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side that is so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) WATCHING (The Making of Riley PaigeBook One) is book ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like If She Saw (A Kate Wise Mystery—Book 2) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Blake Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) IF SHE SAW (A Kate Wise Mystery) is book #2 in a new psychological thriller series by bestselling author Blake Pierce, whose #1 bestselle...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like Next Door (A Chloe Fine Psychological Suspense Mystery—Book 1) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "NEXT DOOR is full of completely unexpected twistsyou will read it on the edge of your chair. It is Blake Pierce at his best! Another masterpiece of suspense and mystery.I highly recommend it to the permanent library of all readers that appreciate an excellent thriller, full of psychological suspense and with a completely unexpected ending. This is the first in what promises to be another excellent series. I can hardly wait to read the sequel." --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos NEXT ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like Pretty Girls: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Lee Child says its stunning certain to be a book of the year.Kathy Reichs calls it extraordinary a major achievement.Jeffery Deaver says that fiction doesn't get any better than this.Gillian Flynn says of Karin Slaughter: Id follow her anywhere.See for yourself what these #1 New York Times-bestselling authors are talking about.Sisters. Strangers. Survivors.More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydias teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Karin Slaughter Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like If She Hid (A Kate Wise Mystery—Book 4) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Blake Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) IF SHE HID (A Kate Wise Mystery) is book #4 in a new psychological thriller series by bestselling author Blake Pierce, whose #1 bestseller...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

 

Similar Books Like Gone Girl: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Nominated as one of Americas best-loved novels by PBSs The Great American ReadThe #1 New York TimesBestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunnes fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nicks clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isnt doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wifes head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Gillian Flynn Publisher: Crown

Similar Books Like Silent Neighbor (A Chloe Fine Psychological Suspense Mystery—Book 4) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Blake Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) SILENT NEIGHBOR (A Chloe Fine Mystery) is book #4 in a new psychological suspense series by bestselling author Blake Pierce, whose #1 bes...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like Once Missed (A Riley Paige Mystery—Book 16) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery! The author did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side that is so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) ONCE MISSED is book #16 in the bestselling Riley Pai...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like If She Fled (A Kate Wise Mystery—Book 5) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Blake Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page. --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone) IF SHE FLED (A Kate Wise Mystery) is book #5 in a new psychological thriller series by bestselling author Blake Pierce, whose #1 bestselle...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like The Museum of Desire: An Alex Delaware Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Psychologist Alex Delaware and detective Milo Sturgis struggle to make sense of a seemingly inexplicable massacre in this electrifying psychological thriller from the #1New York Timesbestselling master of suspense.LAPD Lieutenant Milo Sturgis has solved a lot of murder cases. On many of themthe ones he calls differenthe taps the brain of brilliant psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware. But neither Alex nor Milo are prepared for what they find on an early morning call to a deserted mansion in Bel ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jonathan Kellerman Publisher: Ballantine Books

Similar Books Like The Perfect Smile (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book Four) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In THE PERFECT SMILE (Book #4), criminal profiler Jessie Hunt, 29, fresh from the FBI Academy, is assigned a disturbing new case: a woman in her 30s has been murdered after using a dating website for her affairs with married men. Had she gotten too close to one of the married men? Was she the victim of blackmail? Of a stalker? Or was there some far more nefarious motive at stake? The list of suspects takes Jessie into wealthy, manicured neighborhoods, behind the veil of seemingly perfect...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like Victorian Villainy: A Collection of Moriarty Stories Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Among the worlds great fictional villains Professor James Moriarty stands alone. Doctor Fu Manchu, Hannibal Lecter, Count Dracula, Iago, Voldemort, Darth Vader, Bill Sikes, Inspector Javert, and the Wicked Witch of the West all have their fans, all have their place in popular fiction. But for every one who can tell you whose life Iago made miserable, fifty honor that Professor James Moriarty was the particular nemesis of Sherlock Holmes. But just how evil was he? These stories by Michael Kurlan...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael Kurland Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

 

Similar Books Like Before He Stalks (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 13) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From Blake Pierce, bestselling author of ONCE GONE (a #1 bestseller with over 900 five star reviews), comes book #13 in the heart-pounding Mackenzie White mystery series.When bodies are found dead on the rainy shores of Puget Sound and there are no leads in sight, FBI Special Agent Mackenzie White is assigned the case. Believing this to be run-of-the-mill homicides that will let her ease back into the field, Mackenzie soon realizes shes in for more than she bargained for.Racing against time and...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Blake Pierce Publisher: Blake Pierce

Similar Books Like Bad Love: An Alex Delaware Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER It came in a plain brown wrapper, no return addressan audiocassette recording of a horrifying, soul-lacerating scream, followed by the sound of a childlike voice chanting: Bad love. Bad love. Dont give me the bad love. For Alex Delaware the tape is the first intimation that he is about to enter a living nightmare. Others soon follow: disquieting laughter echoing over a phone line that suddenly goes dead, and a chilling act of trespass and vandalism. He has become...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jonathan Kellerman Publisher: Ballantine Books

Similar Books Like The Millionaire's Wife: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: 'I am completely and utterly speechless Ohwow, absolutely triple wow literally had me on tenterhooksI thought I was going to fall off my chair.Mixing Reality with FictionEveryone has their secrets. But this one could destroy your marriage.WhenAnna Blackwellopens an email from an unknown sender, the shocking image attached shatters her perfect world. A woman has been killed. And Anna knows who did it. The past is catching up with her.Is it her turn next?To protect herself and her husband...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Shalini Boland Publisher: Bookouture

 


The Name of the Rose Reviews and Comments:

‘The library is a nice labyrinth, sign of the labyrinth of the globe. You enter and you do not know whether you will come out.’ The Name of the Rose is a mystery storyline set in an Italian abbey in 1327 ...
~ A Google user
“Thus I rediscovered what writers have usually known (and have claimed us again and again): ebooks usually speak of another ebooks, and each storyline Claims a storyline that has already been claimed.” Adso a young ...
~ A Google user
Very like An Instance of the Fingerpost in regard to historical detail and atmosphere—not to mention compelling storyline-claiming. It IS a mystery, but the storyline and characters are what kept me reading. Set in a monastery in the 1300s this novel is rife with intrigue and fascinating characters.
~ A Google user
I give this novel 4 stars, even though it is one of the finest novels I have ever layed my hands on. It would have gotten 5 stars if I had connected more to the sentiments and concepts revealed by the ...
~ A Google user
I need to finish this... It's been too long on my reading list as another ebooks have jumped the queue. It's not that it's hard to read. In fact I would claim the use of the summary/synopsis before every ...
~ A Google user
"Stat Rosa pristina nomine, nomina nuda tenemus" In "The Name of the Rose" by Umberto Eco As a novelist Eco blends the style of Arthur Conan Doyle with that of Cervantes in a most intellectually ...
~ A Google user
This is a superb ebook. I took the time to read it, because it is a ebook that needs to be read slowly. Set in the 14th century, or 15th, it is spread over seven days. A series of deaths shock the ...
~ A Google user
This is other ebook that had been languishing on my shelves for a very long time. I liked the video ages ago, and one of my finest college dudes is obsessed with Eco, so I'd purchased a several ebooks and ...
~ A Google user
The Name of the Rose did not disappoint. It is an immersive read, populated with unpredictable characters, the narrative cookfire tended (if not exactly stoked) by an interesting whodunnit, and ...
~ A Google user
This is not a hard to understand ebook. But it is a hard to hold awake ebook. All of the characters talk too much. Even the explanatory notes at the end of the ebook are stupidly wordy! The storyline reads ...
~ A Google user
There is so much to like about Umberto Eco's novel "The Name of the Rose." It was a hard ebook for me to rate, though, as there were a several things about it I didn't really love. The novel follows a pair ...
~ A Google user
For me, this ebook prompted a healthy mixture of thoughts--sometimes I praised Eco's writing capabilities; sometimes I eagerly marked the page for a quote that I didn't wish to forget, etc. But for the ...
~ A Google user
Although it's a hard read, it's fascinating. Set in the 1200's in northern Italy, the storyline is claimed by Adso, the young helper of William of Baskerville, a priest from England who has been an ...
~ A Google user
Umberto Eco's first novel is certainly an extraordinary debut - the wealth of knowledge he has accumulated in semiotics and history is clearly on display. The plot is a relatively easy murder ...
~ A Google user
One of the toughest ebooks I read so far. The first 100 pages are a challenge. He made it tough so that he should wean out the recipients who are really not interested :) Eco style of writing is so ...
~ A Google user
I've read this ebook few times and few different ideas--as a detective novel, it is quite interesting, with lots of interesting side lines. But it's also a novel about theology, the corruptions ...
~ A Google user
There's not much hard time in this ebook, but I understand that if you read Italian, it's a stylistic triumph. I found the mystery not so nice as a Cadfell, but still adequate. I enjoyed the library ...
~ A Google user
This is other ebook that had been languishing on my shelves for a very long time. I liked the video ages ago, and one of my finest college dudes is obsessed with Eco, so I'd purchased a several ebooks and ...
~ A Google user
I chose this ebook as my contribution to the Past Offences meme, Crime Fiction of the Year 1980, primarily because I had often meant to tackle it. To claim I was disappointed is an understatement. I ...
~ A Google user
I completed it. For the first 100 pages it was doubtful. Very doubtful. But I endeavored on, and then the sun rose into the second day. It was still a challenging read. It needed ones full attention ...
~ A Google user
I completed it. For the first 100 pages it was doubtful. Very doubtful. But I endeavored on, and then the sun rose into the second day. It was still a challenging read. It needed ones full attention ...
~ A Google user
I read this ebook ONLY because it was picked by ebook club, but I was one of the many who voted for this to be picked for this year.... That means one could be careful what they want for. The ONLY ...
~ A Google user
I just recently reread The Name of the Rose (1980, English trans. 1983), and I did so in the actual Kindle edition, which seems to be the e-ebook ver of a 2014 reprint. Check to obtain this edition of ...
~ A Google user
It is wishful thinking on my part that my review would capture, firstly, and then later, the mood of my bewilderment and disappointment respectively. The Name Of The Rose is an ode to ignorance. As ...
~ A Google user
I loved this ebook. It's a lovely blend of mystery, history, religion, and scholarship that sucked me in fully.
~ A Google user
Medieval monks arguing the finer points of papal intrigue, some murders at the abbey, and a phantasmal library - wonderfully done, and translated at that.
~ A Google user
A masterpiece.
~ A Google user
Nice ebook. Interesting mystery and also an historical lesson about the Catholic Church in the middle ages.
~ A Google user
Eco - brilliant!
~ A Google user
A nice read. Nice description of that period of time.
~ A Google user
An awesome historical thriller. Loved the setting, the characterizations, the plot. Umberto Eco is a master.
~ A Google user
Excellent!
~ M. Lawlor
Endlessly fascinating.
~ Todd Turner
Finest ebook I have ever read
~ Jose Fran. Ruiz
We'll see how it goes.
~ Jay blue
One of the finest novels I've read. Rest in peace Eco
~ Ben Flack
Umberto Eco is a master storyteller! One of the finest mysteries you'll ever read!
~ rob johnson
This was the first ebook I read by Eco. I have been a fan ever since. When you obtain tired of the formulaic novels churned out by originators who all use the same chart system - give this one a test
~ Lacy W
It took me ages to even launch reading the ebook, originally being lured in by the title. Then, upon reading the ebook, it took 100 pages to even obtain into wanting to read the ebook. Why? Eco's writing style is so pedantic that my adolescent brain will obtain so tired of trying to absorb these information that it becomes easily distracted. Once I got into it, however, I came to adore it, despite how hard it is to understand the deeper meaning behind the storyline. Not great, but it's definitely better than most.
~ Maya Faulkner
No matter if you watched the video which is very nice this ebook take your breath away from the beginning to the end, learning a lot in the process
~ RAUL GARCIA