3.0
Similar Books Like The Living Dead Alternatives
The Living Dead   
About: A horror landmark and a work of gory genius.Joe Hill, Newest York Times bestselling originator of The FiremanNew York Times bestselling originator Daniel Kraus completes George A. Romero's brand-newest masterpiece of zombie horror, the heavy novel left unfinished at Romero's death! George A. Romero invented the modern zombie with Night of the Living Dead, creating a creature that has become a key part of pop culture. Romero often felt hemmed in by the constraints of video-making. To claim the storyline of the rise of the zombies and the fall of humanity the idea it could be claimed, Romero turned to fiction. Unfortunately, when he died, the storyline was incomplete.Enter Daniel Kraus, co-originator, with Guillermo del Toro, of the Newest York Times bestseller The Shape of Water (based on the Academy Award-winning video) and Trollhunters (which became an Emmy Award-winning series), and o ... Show more
Genre: Fiction / Horror Rotten Tomatoes® score: 3.0 Audio language: English Authors: George A. Romero and Daniel Kraus Publisher: Tor Books
Books like The Living Dead and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like The Living Dead but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

The Living Dead Similar Books

The Living Dead similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like The Living Dead:
Similar Books Like Never be the Same Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Follow us on for Free Giveaways. Meet Paige, a famous actress whose career is on the come up. Things couldn't be better, until her front door is kicked in by the police. After being forced to snitch on her fiance or go to jail, Paige makes a decision that is sure to change her life forever. Meanwhile, Paige's fiance Jeezy has problems of his own. The kind of problems that can get him killed or placed in jail for the rest of his life. With his back to the wall and a gun in his hand the only way...

Trailer:
Audio language: Englis Authors: Silk White Publisher: Good2go Publishing

Similar Books Like Doctor Sleep: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Soon to be a major motion picture starring Ewan McGregor! From master storyteller Stephen King, his unforgettable and terrifying sequel to The Shiningan instant #1 New York Times bestseller that is [a] vivid frightscape (The New York Times). On highways across America, a tribe of people called the True Knot travel in search of sustenance. They look harmlessmostly old, lots of polyester, and married to their RVs. But as Dan Torrance knows, and spunky twelve-year-old Abra Stone learns, the Tru...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen King Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Haunted: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Haunted is a novel made up of twenty-three horrifying, hilarious, and stomach-churning stories. Theyre told by people who have answered an ad for a writers retreat and unwittingly joined a Survivor-like scenario where the host withholds heat, power, and food. As the storytellers grow more desperate, their tales become more extreme, and they ruthlessly plot to make themselves the hero of the reality show that will surely be made from their plight. This is one of the most disturbing and outrag...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Chuck Palahniuk Publisher: Anchor

Similar Books Like The Outsider: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERsoon to be an HBO limited series starring Ben Mendelsohn! An unspeakable crime. A confounding investigation. At a time when the King brand has never been stronger, he has delivered one of his most unsettling and compulsively readable stories.An eleven-year-old boys violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint Citys most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, a...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen King Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Silence of the Lambs Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A serial murderer known only by a grotesquely apt nickname--Buffalo Bill--is stalking women. He has a purpose, but no one can fathom it, for the bodies are discovered in different states. Clarice Starling, a young trainee at the FBI Academy, is surprised to be summoned by Jack Crawford, chief of the Bureau's Behavioral Science section. Her assignment: to interview Dr. Hannibal Lecter--Hannibal the Cannibal--who is kept under close watch in the Baltimore State Hospital for the Criminally Insane.D...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Thomas Harris Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Similar Books Like The Mist Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
5.0

About: #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen Kings terrifying novella about a town engulfed in a dense, mysterious mist as humanity makes its last stand against unholy destructionoriginally published in the acclaimed short story collection Skeleton Crew and made into a TV series, as well as a feature film starring Thomas Jane and Marcia Gay Harden.In the wake of a summer storm, terror descends...David Drayton, his son Billy, and their neighbor Brent Norton join dozens of others and head to the...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen King Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Snakes: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The award-winning, bestselling author of The Uninvited Guests and The Outcast returns with a bold, brilliant, and beautiful novel, unflinching in its gaze, which holds the reader in its tense grip from start to unforgettable finish.I wonder if it hurts them to shed their skins, she said. She didnt feel afraid standing in the darkness, imagining snakes, even with the smell of death in the air.Recently married, psychologist Bea and Dan, a mixed-race artist, rent out their tiny flat to escape L...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sadie Jones Publisher: HarperCollins

 

Similar Books Like The Stand Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: Stephen Kings apocalyptic vision of a world blasted by plague and tangled in an elemental struggle between good and evil remains as riveting and eerily plausible as when it was first published.Nominated as one of Americas best-loved novels by PBSs The Great American ReadA patient escapes from a biological testing facility, unknowingly carrying a deadly weapon: a mutated strain of super-flu that will wipe out 99 percent of the worlds population within a few weeks. Those who remain are scared...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen King Publisher: Anchor

Similar Books Like The Institute: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since Itpublishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Elliss parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except theres no ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen King Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: #1NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER Prepare to be entranced by this addictively readable oral history of the great war between humans and zombies.Entertainment WeeklyWe survived the zombie apocalypse, but how many of us are still haunted by that terrible time? We have (temporarily?) defeated the living dead, but at what cost? Told in the haunting and riveting voices of the men and women who witnessed the horror firsthand,World War Zis the only record of theapocalypticyears.The Zombie War cam...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Max Brooks Publisher: Broadway Books

Similar Books Like Extinction Horizon Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: USA Today bestseller Nicholas Sansbury Smith's first book in his thrilling post-apocalyptic series about one man's mission to save the world. Master Sergeant Reed Beckham has led his Delta Force Team, codenamed Ghost, through every kind of hell imaginable and never lost a man. When a top secret Medical Corps research facility goes dark, Team Ghost is called in to face their deadliest enemy yet--a variant strain of Ebola that turns men into monsters. After barely escaping with his life, Beckham r...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Nicholas Sansbury Smith Publisher: Orbit

Similar Books Like Devolution: A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The #1 New York Times bestselling author of World War Z is back with the Bigfoot thriller you didnt know you needed in your life, and one of the greatest horror novels Ive ever read (Blake Crouch, author ofDark MatterandRecursion).As the ash and chaos from Mount Rainiers eruption swirled and finally settled, the story of the Greenloop massacre has passed unnoticed, unexamined . . . until now. The journals of resident Kate Holland, recovered from the towns bl...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Max Brooks Publisher: Del Rey

Similar Books Like Home Before Dark: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In the latest thriller fromNew York Timesbestseller Riley Sager, a woman returns to the house made famous by her fathers bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthboundand dangeroussecrets hidden within its walls?What was it like? Living in that house.Maggie Holt is used to such questions. Twenty-five years ago, she and her parents, Ewan and Jess, moved into Baneberry Hall, a rambling Victorian estate in the Vermont ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Riley Sager Publisher: Penguin

Similar Books Like Survivor Song: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Fresh and surprising.Survivor Songmay be one of Tremblays best beautifully detailed, viscerally frightening, and deep with emotional resonance." Dan Chaon,New York Timesbestselling author ofIll WillA riveting novel of suspense and terror from the Bram Stoker award-winning author of The Cabin at the End of the World and A Head Full of Ghosts.In a matter of weeks, Massachusetts has been overrun by an insidious rabies-like virus that is spread by saliva. But unlike rabies, the disease has...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Paul Tremblay Publisher: HarperCollins

 

Similar Books Like The Shadows: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "This is absorbing, headlong reading, a play on classic horror with an inventiveness of its own... As with all the best illusions, you are left feeling not tricked, but full of wonder." The New York TimesThe haunting new thriller from Alex North, author of the New York Times bestseller The Whisper ManYou knew a teenager like Charlie Crabtree. A dark imagination, a sinister smile--always on the outside of the group. Some part of you suspected he might be capable of doing something awful. Twenty-...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Alex North Publisher: Celadon Books

Similar Books Like The Only Good Indians Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: One of 2020s buzziest horror novels. Entertainment Weekly More than I could have asked for in a novel.Tommy Orange, Pulitzer Prize finalist author of There There What Stephen Graham Jones does for me, is create new possibilities for Indigenous storymakers. Terese Marie Mailhot, New York Times bestselling author A masterpiece. Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World A tale of revenge, cultural identity, and the cost of breaking from t...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen Graham Jones Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Malorie: A Bird Box Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In the thrilling sequel toBird Box, the inspiration for the record-breaking Netflix film that starred Sandra Bullock and absolutely riveted Stephen King,New York Timesbestselling author Josh Malerman brings unseen horrors to life.This sequel is as tense and harrowing as the original, with a new depth that raises the stakes.Riley Sager, author ofLock Every DoorTwelve years after Malorie and her children rowed up the river to safety, a blindfold is still the only thing that stands betwee...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Josh Malerman Publisher: Del Rey

 


The Living Dead Reviews and Comments:

In the beginning there is John Doe. The death of a seemingly nicely dressed homeless person. The autopsy going differently than all others. Luis and Charlie had found patient zero. This launches the zombie apocalypse. While the storyline continues it separates into storylines that parallel every another. It's almost like reading short stories. For example, stories of a naval vessel, a teenager from a trailer park, a musician, a news station, government workers and two medical examiners all intertwined. You read about every of the characters and how they are doing throughout their apocolyptic experiences. Those important characters because they hold coming back. I don't normally like zombie stories. They're all so related. Zombies come and slay everyone so recipients have to arm themselves and aim for the brain. This is related, but the idea the zombies are viewed and treated at the ends makes it special. The ending has some interesting and special twists, I really enjoyed. In the end living, dead,
~ Natalie Huey
I am a zombie enthusiast, for sure. I have seen few of Romero's videos. So when I won an ARC of this ebook, I was ecstatic. I will run by claiming the ebook did not disappoint, but I do have some feedback. So, for starters, this ebook is a WHOPPER. The unedited ARC I received came in at a whopping 650 (ish) pages. Which, honestly, is quite a lot to me. The characters were interesting and beautifully written. I liked and hated bits and pieces of each one of them, which is type of the target. I loved that toward the end of the ebook, all of the hero stories came together few years down the way. That takes a lvl of attention to detail that most writers just don't have. And incorporating the several chapters from the zombie target of view (and the zombie getting the last word) were a truly special and nice touch. For critiques, the writing was overdone in territories. The style was (mostly) pretty but in another zones it took on this feel of being almost Dickensian in how lengthy descriptions of tiny things were. I am also aware that Romero (I am cute sure) preferred the term ghoul. I didn't love the revert back to using zombie. I thought the another uses of terms showed the idea the ghouls were viewed differently by everyone who encountered them, but there were just so many different ideas they were referenced. And the ending... I won't spoil it, but it was so anticlimactic after 600+ pages. I did really enjoy the separate ending for the zombie hero that had been threaded through the storyline, it was pretty. But the ending for the humans was really no ending at all. Definitely didn't leave me feeling warm and fuzzy after, but I guess ebooks about zombies aren't supposed to do that.
~ Camden Hoeffner