3.6
Similar Books Like The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel Alternatives
The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel   
About: From the critically acclaimed originator of the Newest York Times bestseller The Confessions of Full Tivoli comes The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells, a rapturously romantic storyline of a girl who finds herself transported to the another lives she might have lived.After the death of her beloved twin brother and the abandonment of her long-time lover, Greta Wells undergoes electroshock therapy. Over the course of the treatment, Greta finds herself repeatedly sent to 1918, 1941, and back to the present. Whisked from the gas-lit ways and horse-drawn carriages of the West Village to a martini-fueled lunch at the Oak Room, in these another worlds, Greta finds her brother alive and wellthough fearfully masking his real personality. And her former lover is actually her devoted husbandbut will he be unfaithful to her in this life as well? Greta Wells is fascinated by her alter egos: in 1941, s ... Show more
Genre: Fiction / Historical / General Rotten Tomatoes® score: 3.6 Audio language: English Authors: Andrew Sean Greer Publisher: Harper Collins
Books like The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel Similar Books

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel:
Similar Books Like Blonde: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In this ambitious book, Joyce Carol Oates boldly reimagines the inner, poetic, and spiritual life of Norma Jeane Bakerthe child, the woman, the fated celebrity and idolized blonde the world came to know as Marilyn Monroe. In a voice startling, intimate, and rich, Norma Jeane tells her own story, that of an emblematic American artistintensely conflicted and drivenwho has lost her way. A powerful portrait of Hollywoods myth and an extraordinary womans heartbreaking reality, Blonde is a sweepi...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Joyce Carol Oates Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like All Quiet on the Western Front: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Considered by many the greatest war novel of all time,All Quiet on the Western Frontis Erich Maria Remarques masterpiece of the German experience during World War I.I am young, I am twenty years old; yet I know nothing of life but despair, death, fear, and fatuous superficiality cast over an abyss of sorrow. . . .This is the testament of Paul Bumer, who enlists with his classmates in the German army during World War I. They become soldiers with youthful enthusiasm. But the world of duty, cul...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Erich Maria Remarque Publisher: Random House

Similar Books Like Shōgun Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
5.0

About: After Englishman John Blackthorne is lost at sea, he awakens in a place few Europeans know of and even fewer have seenNippon. Thrust into the closed society that is seventeenth-century Japan, a land where the line between life and death is razor-thin, Blackthorne must negotiate not only a foreign people, with unknown customs and language, but also his own definitions of morality, truth, and freedom. As internal political strife and a clash of cultures lead to seemingly inevitable conflict, Blac...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James Clavell Publisher: Blackstone Publishing

Similar Books Like Before We Were Yours: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: THE BLOCKBUSTER HITA New York Times,USA Today,Wall Street Journal,andPublishers WeeklyBestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.*Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their familys Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Lisa Wingate Publisher: Ballantine Books

Similar Books Like One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: One Thousand White Women is the story of May Dodd and a colorful assembly of pioneer women who, under the auspices of the U.S. government, travel to the western prairies in 1875 to intermarry among the Cheyenne Indians. The covert and controversial "Brides for Indians" program, launched by the administration of Ulysses S. Grant, is intended to help assimilate the Indians into the white man's world. Toward that end May and her friends embark upon the adventure of their lifetime. Jim Fergus has so...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jim Fergus Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Similar Books Like The Revenant: A Novel of Revenge Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA thrilling tale of betrayal and revenge set against the nineteenth-century American frontier, the astonishing story of real-life trapper and frontiersman Hugh GlassThe year is 1823, and the trappers of the Rocky Mountain Fur Company live a brutal frontier life. Hugh Glass is among the companys finest men, an experienced frontiersman and an expert tracker. But when a scouting mission puts him face-to-face with a grizzly bear, he is viciously...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael Punke Publisher: Picador

Similar Books Like Star Path: People of Cahokia Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The fourth novel in the Cahokian story cycle, Star Path is an evocative tale about Americas greatest pre-Columbian city by New York Times bestselling authors W. Michael and Kathleen ONeal GearHow do you say no to a god?Cahokia recovers from a year of chaos following a near civil war and the god incarnate, Morning Star, has declared that his human sister Night Shadow Star and her slave Fire Cat must make a dangerous journey to far off Cofitachequi. For an old threat has arisen on the other side...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear Publisher: Forge Books

 


The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells: A Novel Reviews and Comments:

“The Impossible happens once to every of us.” I warn you actually, I’m going to gush. The speaker of the above sentiment is the eponymous Greta Wells, the first-person narrator of Andrew Sean Greer’s fourth ...
~ A Google user
So often, stories about time travel are all about the “What if?” and the many ideas that recipients test and change meetings both past and present. Those are fascinating to me, and I enjoy all of the ...
~ A Google user
The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells by Andrew Sean Greer 289 pages ★★★ Greta lives in 1985 and is incredibly depressed about her life, the hope that electroshock therapy will fix her is a last ...
~ A Google user
As we meet Greta she has just suffered two life altering losses … her long time lover has left her for other girl and her twin brother has died. Needless to claim Greta feels like her life is ...
~ A Google user
A girl inhabits three different selves in a time-travel novel from an originator long fascinated by the manipulation of time (The Confessions of Full Tivoli, 2004, etc.).Young lads are dying like flies. It ...
~ A Google user
I thoroughly enjoyed this ebook and the premise behind it. Imagine having more than one choice for the life you wish to live, all with different challenges jos and sorrows Then to be able to pick ...
~ A Google user
Greta Wells is an unhappy girl in 1985, having been lost her brother to AIDS and obtain lover to other girl. Electroshock therapy has the unexpected result of sending her by turns into two alternate ...
~ A Google user
Greta Wells has slipped into a depression. Her twin brother, Felix, has recently died from the 1980's AIDS epidemic. Her ten year companion, Nathan, has left her after a long period of intention from ...
~ A Google user
It started off slow, but I stuck with it and I am glad that I did. It is a time travel ebook of sorts, but the uniqueness of her travels is what kept my interest. It runs out in 1985 with the main ...
~ A Google user
I enjoyed each minute of this ebook. Greta Wells is grieving. She has lost a beloved family member, and can't seem to search a idea out of the darkness. It is suggested that she submit to ...
~ A Google user
Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like had I made different decisions at key points in time. There are many ebooks that take that curiousity and use it as a plot device. But how many of ...
~ A Google user
Andrew Sean Greer was born in November 1970, in Washington, D.C., the son of two scientists. He studied writing at Brown University, and after years in Newest York working as a chauffeur, media ...
~ A Google user
I wanted to like this ebook, but it's hard to do so when I search the main hero uninteresting and fairly unlikeable. I also got the sense that the originator is in love with the sound and structure ...
~ A Google user
I wanted to like this ebook, but it's hard to do so when I search the main hero uninteresting and fairly unlikeable. I also got the sense that the originator is in love with the sound and structure ...
~ A Google user
'The impossible happens once to every of us.' Greta Wells is devastated after losing her twin brother Felix to AIDS and after her long term partner Nathan also leaves her. Burdened by a deep depression ...
~ A Google user
I really enjoyed this ebook. It was a bit confusing here and there - I had to stop and think few times about which hero was in which era. However, that is a minor complaint; the storyline is funny ...
~ A Google user
It was a nice experience reading this ebook because while in the middle of reading it I got to read Andrew Sean Greer. Talking to him helped me to focus me on aspects of the ebook that I was not sure ...
~ A Google user
An interesting idea: that who we are, how we behave and interact with the recipients in our lives depends on the external circumstances and era we happen to be born into. Unfortunately, it wore a ...
~ A Google user
After her twin brother dies and her lover of many years abruptly leaves her, Greta Wells sinks into an unrelenting depression. Nothing she tries for it works. As a last ditch effort, she tries a ...
~ A Google user
After her twin brother dies and her lover of many years abruptly leaves her, Greta Wells sinks into an unrelenting depression. Nothing she tries for it works. As a last ditch effort, she tries a ...
~ A Google user
A funny combination of a very slight-feeling ebook and a some serious subject, mainly death, loss, and plague years (the Spanish flu in 1918, AIDS in 1985, and a bunch of young lads gearing up to go off ...
~ A Google user
This very readable novel search how one would live a different but related life in a different time and how a glimpse of that experience would change one's actual life. The time travel, though ...
~ A Google user
I generally love time travel literature, especially if it's well-written. I had heard a lot of nice things about this ebook. I really wanted to like it but to be honest, by about half idea through, I ...
~ A Google user
This was a well written ebook on an interesting look at the topic of time travel. It took a bit to obtain use to the rhythm of the storyline but once it was established it flowed nicely. This wasn't a ebook ...
~ A Google user
A travel into grief and mental disease.
~ A Google user
I really liked this ebook. Nice writing and an interesting premise. Not your typical time travel ebook. In fact, I don't think I'd call it a "time travel" ebook. It made me think about how timing and circumstaces shape the recipients we are and how choices we create have far reaching consequences.
~ A Google user
Other time travel novel. In this novel time travel is induced by electroshock treatments which lead the protagonist to repeated visits to parallel lives. Bland.
~ A Google user
Loved this----going back and forth in time and with a effects at the end!!! Nice storyline-claiming!
~ A Google user
Psychiatric treatment, a smart mechanism to claim a time-travel tale. Reader/narrator, Orlagh Cassidy, kept me interested in the three different twentieth-century time periods and Greta's experiences when transported into and out of those eras.
~ A Google user
I love time travel but just couldn't obtain into this ebook.
~ A Google user
Past and different lives and time travel seem to be "trending" but I think the penultimate was Kate Atkinson's "Life After Life". This ebook never grabbed me, and I found the activities of the lead characters in their three lifespans (1918, 1941, 1985)not exciting nor inspirational.
~ A Google user
i loved each minute of it and couldn't place it down. Two phrases that stood out were "no ordinary life" and "first love."
~ A Google user
This was a really interesting ebook - I enjoyed the premise very much. Mr. Greer's prose can be a bit flowery at times, but the ebook is well researched and well-written. I confess, I wish to know what happens next with Greta(s), Leo, et al.
~ A Google user
Beautifully written and lovely sorry.
~ Gina Pisello
Definitely liked it more than i thought i would... very nice read
~ Jessica Bailey
Started it Tuesday completed it Thursday. Should not place it down. Fully hooked me, unbelievable writing and a nice storyline. Nice.
~ Theresa K Boyle
Wow...Nice storyline, I should not place it down and was taken away to another worlds with Greta
~ Sue Rose
Really enjoyed the time hopping in a different idea from others, it was an enjoyable read
~ Jennifer Kamauff
This ebook opens the mind to concepts that I had already thought about, and gave a nice storyline as a idea of explaining the theory
~ Clay wolves
I did not like this ebook. It was boring and just meandered around. I kept reading it, hoping something interesting would happen, but it didn't. Sure, it was well-written and the concept was nice, but overall, it was very disappointing. Maybe I missed something, but there was nothing that sucked me in, nothing that really even made me think about it when I wasn't reading it, another than wondering when it would obtain better. It never did and I completed it just as bored as I was while reading it.
~ Annie Messmer