4.0
Similar Books Like The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] Alternatives
The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated]   
About: Mathematics pervades our everyday lives. It is intimately involved whenever one runs a car, switches on the media, flies on a plane, forecasts the weather, ebooks a holidays on the internet, programmes a pc, navigates massive traffic, analyses statistical time, or seeks a cure for a illness. Our credit cards and the nation's defence secrets are kept secure by encryption ways based on prime numbers. This ebook presents mathematics with a human face, celebrating the achievements of the nice mathematicians in their historical context. Here you will meet time-measurers (the Mayans, Huygens), astronomers (Ptolemy, Halley), logicians (Aristotle, Russell), calculators (Napier, Babbage), geometers (Archimedes, Bolyai) and arithmeticians (Pythagoras, al-Khwarizmi), as well as such well-known figures as Geoffrey Chaucer, Christopher Wren, Napoleon, Florence Nightingale, and many more.
Genre: History / General Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.0 Audio language: English Authors: Robin Wilson and Raymond Flood Publisher: Arcturus Publishing
Books like The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] Similar Books

The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated]:
Similar Books Like Good Old Days, My Ass: 665 Funny History Facts & Terrifying Truths about Yesteryear Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A rollicking roundup of facts about our not-so-glorious past. With the uncertain economy, lingering wars, and the ever-present threats of everything from bird flu to Bieber Fever, its tempting to long for the good old days. But just how good were they? Buckle up for a bumpy ride down memory lane (and try not to get trampled) as these 665 funny history facts and terrifying truths reveal the unfortunate reality of life during the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. From pa... Audio language: English Authors: David A. Fryxell Publisher: F+W Media, Inc.

Similar Books Like Creators: From Chaucer and Durer to Picasso and Disney Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Kingsley Amis described Paul Johnson's Intellectuals as a valuable and entertaining Rogues' Gallery of Adventures of the Mind. Now the celebrated journalist and historian offers Creators, a companion volume of essays that examines a host of outstanding and prolific creative spirits. Here are Disney, Picasso, Bach, and Shakespeare; Austen, Twain, and T. S. Eliot; and Drer, Hokusai, Pugin, and Viollet-le-Duc, among many others.Paul Johnson believes that creation cannot be satisfactorily analyze...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Paul Johnson Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like 4th of July, Asbury Park: A History of the Promised Land Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: When Bruce Springsteen called his first album Greetings from Asbury Park, he introduced a generation of fans to a fallen seaside resort town that came to represent working-class American life. Starting with the town's founding as a religious promised land, music journalist and poet Daniel Wolff plots a course through Asbury Park's entwined social and musical history, in a story that captures all the allure and heartbreak of the American dream....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Daniel Wolff Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

Similar Books Like A Difficult Woman: The Challenging Life and Times of Lillian Hellman Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Lillian Hellman was a giant of twentieth-century letters and a groundbreaking figure as one of the most successful female playwrights on Broadway. Yet the author of The Little Foxes and Toys in the Attic is today remembered more as a toxic, bitter survivor and literary fabulist, the woman of whom Mary McCarthy said, "Every word she writes is a lie, including 'and' and 'the.'" In A Difficult Woman, renowned historian Alice Kessler-Harris undertakes a feat few would dare to attempt: a reclamation ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Alice Kessler-Harris Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

Similar Books Like Intellectuals: From Marx and Tolstoy to Sartre and Chomsky Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A fascinating portrait of the minds that have shaped the modern world. In an intriguing series of case studies, Rousseau, Shelley, Marx, Ibsen, Tolstoy, Hemingway, Bertrand Russell, Brecht, Sartre, Edmund Wilson, Victor Gollancz, Lillian Hellman, Cyril Connolly, Norman Mailer, James Baldwin, Kenneth Tynan, and Noam Chomsky, among others, are revealed as intellectuals both brilliant and contradictory, magnetic and dangerous....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Paul Johnson Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Bamboo: Essays and Criticism Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "Plant one bamboo shoot-cut bamboo for the rest of your life." William Boyd's prolific, fruitful career is a testament to this old Chinese saying. Boyd penned his first book review in 1978-the proverbial bamboo shoot-and we've been reaping the rewards ever since. Beginning with the Whitbread Award-winning A Good Man in Africa, William Boyd has written consistently artful, intelligent fiction and firmly established himself as an international man of letters. He has done nearly thirty years of res...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: William Boyd Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

 


The Great Mathematicians: [Fully Illustrated] Reviews and Comments: