4.0
Similar Books Like Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Alternatives
Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide   
About: Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico Town in 1942, the oldest of 13 babes. When tragedy struck Iturbide as a young mother, she turned to photography for solace and understanding. From then on Iturbide embarked on a photographic travel that has taken her throughout her native Mexico, from the Sonora Desert to Juchitn to Frida Kahlos bathroom, to the United States, India, and beyond.Photographicis a symbolic, poetic, and deeply personal graphic biography of this iconic photographer. Iturbide's travel will excite readers of all ages as well as budding photographers, who will be inspired by her resolve, talent, and curiosity.
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / Artists, Architects, Photographers Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.0 Audio language: English Authors: Isabel Quintero Publisher: Getty Publications
Books like Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Similar Books

Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide:
Similar Books Like Caveat Emptor: The Secret Life of an American Art Forger Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The astonishing true story of Americas most accomplished art forger: a kid from New Jersey who became a master, fooling experts and eluding the FBI for thirty years.Ten years ago, an FBI investigation in conjunction with the U.S. Attorneys Office in the Southern District of New York was about to expose a scandal in the art world that would have been front-page news in New York and London. After a trail of fake paintings of astonishing quality led federal agents to art dealers, renowned expert...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Ken Perenyi Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like Walt Before Mickey: Disney's Early Years, 1919-1928 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: For ten years before the creation of Mickey Mouse, Walt Disney struggled with, failed at, and eventually mastered the art and business of animation. Most biographies of his career begin in 1928, when Steamboat Willie was released. That first Disney Studio cartoon with synchronized sound made its main character--Mickey Mouse--an icon for generations.But Steamboat Willie was neither Disney's first cartoon nor Mickey Mouse's first appearance. Prior to this groundbreaking achievement, Walt Disney wo...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Timothy S. Susanin Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

Similar Books Like James Baldwin: A Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: James Baldwin was one of the great writers of the last century. In works that have become part of the American canonGo Tell It on a Mountain, Giovannis Room, Another Country, The Fire Next Time, and The Evidence of Things Not Seenhe explored issues of race and racism in America, class distinction, and sexual difference. A gay, African American writer who was born in Harlem, he found the freedom to express himself living in exile in Paris. When he returned to America to cover the Civil Rights ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Leeming Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The System Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: It has been said that the flutter of insect wings in the Indian Ocean can send a hurricane crashing against the shores of the American Northeast, and such a premise lies at the core of The System, a wordless graphic novel created and painted by award-winning illustrator Peter Kuper. A sleazy stockbroker is lining his pockets, a corrupt cop is shaking down drug dealers, a mercenary bomber is setting the timer, a serial killer is stalking strippers, a political scandal is about to explode, the pla...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Peter Kuper Publisher: PM Press

Similar Books Like Holy Terror: Andy Warhol Close Up Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In the 1960s, Andy Warhols paintings redefined modern art. His films provoked heated controversy, and his Factory was a hangout for the avant-garde. In the 1970s, after Valerie Solanass attempt on his life, Warhol become more entrepreneurial, aligning himself with the rich and famous. Bob Colacello, the editor of Warhols Interview magazine, spent that decade by Andys side as employee, collaborator, wingman, and confidante. In these pages, Colacello takes us there with Andy: into the Factory...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Bob Colacello Publisher: Vintage

Similar Books Like Shutterbabe: Adventures in Love and War Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: What if the protagonist in that age-old taleboy goes to war, comes back a manwere a female? Shutterbabe, Deborah Copaken Kogan's remarkable debut, is just that: the story of a twenty-two-year-old girl from Potomac, Maryland, who goes off to photograph wars and comes back, four years and one too many adventures later, a woman.In 1988, fresh out of Harvard, Kogan moved to Paris with a small backpack, a couple of cameras, the hubris of a superhero, and a strong thirst for danger. She wanted to se...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Deborah Copaken Kogan Publisher: Villard

Similar Books Like M Train Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: National Best SellerFrom the National Book Awardwinning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the prism of the cafs and haunts she has worked in around the world. It is a book Patti Smith has described as a roadmap to my life. M Train begins in the tiny Greenwich Village caf where Smith goes every morning for black coffee, ruminates on the world as it is and the world as it was, and writes in her notebook. Through prose that shifts fluidly betwee...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Patti Smith Publisher: Vintage

 

Similar Books Like A Hungry Heart: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Gordon Parks, acclaimed photographer, filmmaker, composer, and author of fiction and nonfiction, has participated in, been witness to, and documented many of the major events in the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries. Born in Fort Scott, Kansas, on November 30, 1912, he left home at age fifteen when his mother passed away. For the next twelve years, he lived in Minneapolis, Minnesota, working as a piano player, bus boy, Civilian Conservation Corpsman, and professional basketball player be...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Gordon Parks Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Vivienne Westwood Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Vivienne Westwood is one of the icons of our age. Fashion designer, activist, co-creator of punk, global brand and grandmother; a true living legend. Her career has successfully spanned five decades and her work has influenced millions of people across the world.For the first and only time, Vivienne Westwood has written a personal memoir, collaborating with award-winning biographer Ian Kelly, to describe the events, people and ideas that have shaped her extraordinary life. Told in all its glamou...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Vivienne Westwood and Ian Kelly Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Similar Books Like Double Take: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Kevin Connolly has used an unusual physical circumstance to create a gripping work of art. This deeply affecting memoir will place him in the company of Jeanette Walls and Augusten Burroughs. Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants Charming Connolly recounts growing up a scrappy Montana kidone who happened to be born without legs... [Double Take] makes for an empowering read. People As featured on 20/20, NPR, and in the Washington Post: Kevin Connolly is a young man born without leg...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Kevin Michael Connolly Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Journeying Boy: The Diaries of the Young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Best remembered for his operas and his War Requiem, Benjamin Britten's radical politics and his sexuality have also ensured that he remains a controversial public figure. Journeying Boy is a selection of his diaries that offer the reader an unseen insight into this complex man.Encompassing the years 1928-1938, they explore some key periods of Britten's life - his early compositions, his education first under composer Frank Bridge and then at the Royal College of Music, an unhappy but productive ... Audio language: English Authors: John Evans Publisher: Faber & Faber

Similar Books Like Inklings Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: When Jeffrey Koterba was six, he started drawing his first cartoons, painstakingly copying from the Sunday Omaha World Heralds funny papers and making up his own characters. With a pen and a sheet of white paper, he was able to escape into a world that was clean, expansive, and comfortablea refuge from the pandemonium surrounding him. The tiny house Koterba grew up in was full-to-bursting with garage-sale treasures and televisions his father Art repaired and sold for extra money. A hard-drinki...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jeffrey Koterba Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like Daybook, Turn, Prospect: The Journey of an Artist Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: All three of Anne Truitts artists journals in one e-volume, the illuminating, inspiring record of a womans reconciliation of the call of creative work with the demands of daily lifewith a new introduction by Audrey Niffenegger.Anne Truitt kept a journal throughout her adult life, from her early years as one of the rare, celebrated women artists in the early 60s, through her midlife as an established artist, and into older age when she was, for a time, the director of Yaddo, the premier artis...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Anne Truitt Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Andy Warhol Diaries Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In celebration of its 25th anniversary, the bestselling classic is introduced to a new generation-with an added preface by Warhol's diarist and long-time friend, Pat Hackett, contemplating Warhol's lasting cultural impact. This international literary sensation turns the spotlight on one of the most influential and controversial figures in American culture. Filled with shocking observations about the lives, loves, and careers of the rich, famous, and fabulous, Warhol's journal is endlessly fun an...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Andy Warhol and Pat Hackett Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

 

Similar Books Like Valerie Solanas: The Defiant Life of the Woman Who Wrote Scum (and Shot Andy Warhol) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The authoritative biography of the 60s countercultural icon who wrote SCUM Manifesto, shot Andy Warhol, and made an unforgettable mark on feminist history. Valerie Solanas is one of the most polarizing figures of 1960s counterculture. A cult hero to some and vehemently denounced by others, she has been dismissed but never forgotten. Known for shooting Andy Warhol in 1968 and for writing the infamousSCUM Manifesto, Solanas became one of the most famous women of her era. But she was also diagno...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Breanne Fahs Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY

Similar Books Like Role Models Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Here, from the incomparable John Waters, is a paean to the power of subversive inspiration that will delight, amuse, enrichand happily horrify readers everywhere.Role Models is, in fact, a self-portrait told through intimate profiles of favorite personalitiessome famous, some unknown, some criminal, some surprisingly middle-of-the-road. From Esther Martin, owner of the scariest bar in Baltimore, to the playwright Tennessee Williams; from the atheist leader Madalyn Murray O'Hair to the insane m...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: John Waters Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Similar Books Like An Emergency in Slow Motion: The Inner Life of Diane Arbus Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Diane Arbus was one of the most brilliant and revered photographers in the history of American art. Her portraits, in stark black and white, seemed to reveal the psychological truths of their subjects. But after she committed suicide at the age of 48, the presumed chaos and darkness of her own inner life became, for many viewers, inextricable from her work.In the spirit of Janet Malcolm's classic examination of Sylvia Plath, The Silent Woman, William Todd Schultz's An Emergency in Slow Motion re...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: William Todd Schultz Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

Similar Books Like It's What I Do: A Photographer's Life of Love and War Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "A brutally real and unrelentingly raw memoir."--Kirkus (starred review)War photographer Lynsey Addarios memoir Its What I Do is the story of how the relentless pursuit of truth, in virtually every major theater of war in the twenty-first century, has shaped her life. What she does, with clarity, beauty, and candor, is to document, often in their most extreme moments, the complex lives of others. Its her work, but its much more than that: its her singular calling.Lynsey Addario was just fin...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Lynsey Addario Publisher: Penguin

Similar Books Like Empress of Fashion: A Life of Diana Vreeland Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Diane von Furstenberg once called Diana Vreeland a "beacon of fashion for the twentieth century." Now, in this definitive biography by Amanda Mackenzie Stuart, is the story of the iconic fashion editor as you've never seen her before. From her career at the helms of Harper's Bazaar and Vogue, to her reign as consultant to the Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Vreeland had an enormous impact on the fashion world and left a legacy so enduring that must-have style guides still qu...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Amanda Mackenzie Stuart Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like The Paper Garden: An Artist Begins Her Life's Work at 72 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Mary Delany was seventy-two years old when she noticed a petal drop from a geranium. In a flash of inspiration, she picked up her scissors and cut out a paper replica of the petal, inventing the art of collage. It was the summer of 1772, in England. During the next ten years she completed nearly a thousand cut-paper botanicals (which she called mosaicks) so accurate that botanists still refer to them. Poet-biographer Molly Peacock uses close-ups of these brilliant collages in The Paper Garden to...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Molly Peacock Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

LOAD MORE

 


Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide Reviews and Comments:

Quintero (Gabi, a Woman in Pieces) and newcomer Peña weave together Graciela Iturbide's award-winning photography, her own words, and narrative snapshots of her life into an artistically potent ...
~ A Google user
Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide by Isabella Quinto and Zeke Pena is a graphic novel covering the wonderful life of Graciela Iturbide, a Mexican photographer, who is known for portraits ...
~ A Google user
This is a fully fascinating ebook! It's about Mexican photographer Graciela Iturbide who is known for her iconic cultural black-and-white photographs of specific recipients, natural objects, and things ...
~ A Google user
I'm not usually a fan of biographies that stray too far from fact, but while this one walks right on the line with its poetic digressions, it manages to justify the style by crawling into the head of ...
~ A Google user