4.8
Similar Books Like Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap Alternatives
Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap   
About: "Raw, authoritative, and unflinching ... An elaborately detailed, darkly surprising, definitive history of the LA gangsta rap era."---Kirkus, starred reviewA monumental, revealing narrative history about the legendary group of artists at the forefront of West Coast hip-hop: Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, and Tupac Shakur.Amid rising gang violence, the crack epidemic, and police brutality, a group of unlikely voices slash through the chaos of late 1980s Los Angeles: N.W.A. Led by a drug dealer, a glammed-up producer, and a high school babe, N.W.A gave voice to disenfranchised African Americans across the country. And they quickly redefined pop culture across the globe. Their names remain as known as ever--Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, and Ice Cube. Dre quick joined forces with Suge Knight to make the combustible Death Row Records, which in turn transformed Snoop Dogg and Tupac Shakur into sup ... Show more
Genre: Music / Genres & Styles / Rap & Hip Hop Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.8 Audio language: English Authors: Ben Westhoff Publisher: Hachette Books
Books like Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap Similar Books

Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap:
Similar Books Like Labyrinth: The True Story of City of Lies, the Murders of Tupac Shakur and Notorious B.I.G. and the Implication of the Los Angeles Police Department Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Acclaimed journalist Randall Sullivan follows Russell Poole, a highly decorated LAPD detective who in 1997 was called to investigate a controversial cop-on-cop shooting, eventually to discover that the officer killed was tied to Marion Suge Knights notorious gangsta rap label, Death Row Records. During his investigation, Poole came to realize that a growing cadre of black officers were allied not only with Death Row, but with the murderous Bloods street gang. And incredibly, Poole began to un...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Randall Sullivan Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

Similar Books Like Know What I Mean?: Reflections on Hip-Hop Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Whether along race, class, or generational lines, hip-hop music has been a source of controversy since the beats got too big and the voices too loud for the block parties that spawned them. America has condemned and commended this music and the culture that inspires it. Dubbed the Hip-Hop Intellectual by critics and fans for his pioneering explorations of rap music in the academy and beyond, Michael Eric Dyson tackles the most compelling and controversial dimensions of hip-hop culture.Know Wha...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael Eric Dyson Publisher: Civitas Books

Similar Books Like Can't Stop Won't Stop: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Can't Stop Won't Stop is a powerful cultural and social history of the end of the American century, and a provocative look into the new world that the hip-hop generation created.Forged in the fires of the Bronx and Kingston, Jamaica, hip-hop became the Esperanto of youth rebellion and a generation-defining movement. In a post-civil rights era defined by deindustrialization and globalization, hip-hop crystallized a multiracial, polycultural generation's worldview, and transformed American politic...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jeff Chang Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Similar Books Like Other People's Property: A Shadow History of Hip-Hop in White America Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Over the last quarter-century hip-hop has grown from an esoteric form of African-American expression to become the dominant form of American popular culture. Today, Snoop Dogg shills for Chrysler and white kids wear Fubu, the black-owned label whose name stands for "For Us, By Us." This is not the first time that black music has been appreciated, adopted, and adapted by white audiences-think jazz, blues, and rock-but Jason Tanz, a white boy who grew up in the suburban Northwest, says that hip-ho...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jason Tanz Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

Similar Books Like Somebody Scream!: Rap Music's Rise to Prominence in the Aftershock of Black Power Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: For many African Americans of a certain demographic the sixties and seventies were the golden age of political movements. The Civil Rights movement segued into the Black Power movement which begat the Black Arts movement. Fast forward to 1979 and the release of Sugarhill Gang's "Rapper's Delight." With the onset of the Reagan years, we begin to see the unraveling of many of the advances fought for in the previous decades. Much of this occurred in the absence of credible, long-term leadership in ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Marcus Reeves Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

 


Original Gangstas: The Untold Story of Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Tupac Shakur, and the Birth of West Coast Rap Reviews and Comments:

In this sprawling history, journalist Westhoff (Dirty South) follows West Coast rap from the mean ways of Compton and south central Los Angeles to international prominence. Inspired by the first ...
~ A Google user
Words cannot express the badassery of this ebook. It's complex, a tiny overwhelming with the depth of rap history and all those who helped contribute to the gangsta rap movement, but holy hell this ...
~ A Google user
Tupac😩I miss u
~ Emani Nailon
Very entertaining profile of Rap's early days. I grew up in Compton during these times, & this ebook is almost 100% accurate.
~ Joe Saavedra
Claims how 3azy e died
~ Tarsha Griffin Davis
ee rr e ewe er
~ Ed Tate
Accurate to the T its simplicity fully makes you understand
~ TaniqueReviews