4.4
Similar Books Like Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury Alternatives
Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury   
About: When Virginia Woolf wrote A Room of One's Own in 1929, she established her reputation as a feminist, and an advocate for unheard voices. But like thousands of another upper-class British girls, Woolf relied on live-in domestic servants for the most intimate of everyday tasks. That room of Woolf's own was kept clean by a series of cooks and maids throughout her life. In the much-praised Mrs. Woolf and the Servants, Alison Light probes the unspoken inequality of Bloomsbury homes with insight and grace, and provides an entirely newest perspective on an essential modern artist.
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / General Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.4 Audio language: English Authors: Alison Light Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Books like Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury Similar Books

Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury:
Similar Books Like All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Finding the perfect house is never easy. Rebuilding one from a crumbling pileto say nothing of making it into a homeis even harder.With their infant son in tow, David Giffels and his wife comb the environs of Akron, Ohio, in search of just the right house for their burgeoning family. Running through David's head the whole time are the lyrics of a Replacements song, ". . . Look me in the eye, then tell me that I'm satisfied," and it gives all the more purpose to their quest. But nothing seems r...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Giffels Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like First Man: The Life of Neil A. Armstrong Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Soon to be a major motion picture, this is the firstand onlydefinitive authorized account of Neil Armstrong, the man whose one small step changed history.When Apollo 11 touched down on the Moons surface in 1969, the first man on the Moon became a legend. In First Man, author James R. Hansen explores the life of Neil Armstrong. Based on over fifty hours of interviews with the intensely private Armstrong, who also gave Hansen exclusive access to private documents and family sources, this mag...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James R. Hansen Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like What Happened Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: An engaging, beautifully synthesized page-turner (Slate). The #1 New York Times bestseller and Time #1 Nonfiction Book of the Year: Hillary Rodham Clintons most personal memoir yet, about the 2016 presidential election.In this candid and blackly funny (The New York Times) memoir, Hillary Rodham Clinton reveals what she was thinking and feeling during one of the most controversial and unpredictable presidential elections in history. She takes us inside the intense personal experience of beco...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Hillary Rodham Clinton Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Barbara Bush: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The classic #1 New York Times bestselling memoir, celebrating the life and legacy of First Lady Barbara Bushnow updated with new forewords from her five children, including reflections from George W. and Jeb, as featured on A&Es Biography.Barbara Bush endures as one of Americas most popular First Ladies. She has won worldwide acclaim for her wit, compassion, and candor as both a presidential wife and mother. In this fascinating memoir, Mrs. Bush offers a heartfelt portrait of her life in and ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Barbara Bush Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Sorry I'm Late, I Didn't Want to Come: One Introvert's Year of Saying Yes Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: What would happen if a shy introvert lived like a gregarious extrovert for one year? If she knowingly and willingly put herself in perilous social situations that shed normally avoid at all costs? Writer Jessica Pan intends to find out. With the help of various extrovert mentors, Jessica sets up a series of personal challenges (talk to strangers, perform stand-up comedy, host a dinner party, travel alone, make friends on the road, and much, much worse) to explore whether living like an extrover...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jessica Pan Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Similar Books Like A Savage Life Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Radio legend Michael Savage reveals the man behind the microphone, sharing his extraordinary American journey and the adventures that shaped him.**FEATURING EXCLUSIVE, NEVER-BEFORE-PUBLISHED NEW MATERIAL**For twenty-five years, Michael Savage has captivated listeners on his national radio showThe Savage Nation, which reaches a loyal audience of more than ten million each week. InA Savage Life, the usually private man tells his own compelling story in forty-six vignettes that span his childhood...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael Savage Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like Not Dead & Not for Sale: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In the early 1990s, Stone Temple Pilotsnot U2, not Nirvana, not Pearl Jam was the hottest band in the world. STP toppled such mega-bands as Aerosmith and Guns N Roses on MTV and the Billboard charts. Lead singer Scott Weiland became an iconic front man in the tradition of Mick Jagger, David Bowie, and Robert Plant. Then, when STP imploded, it was Weiland who emerged as the emblem of rock star excess, with his well-publicized drug busts and trips to rehab. Weiland has since made a series of st...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Scott Weiland Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like Finding Betty Crocker: The Secret Life of America's First Lady of Food Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: IN 1945, FORTUNE MAGAZINE named Betty Crocker the second most popular American woman, right behind Eleanor Roosevelt, and dubbed Betty America's First Lady of Food. Not bad for a gal who never actually existed."Born" in 1921 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, to proud corporate parents, Betty Crocker has grown, over eight decades, into one of the most successful branding campaigns the world has ever known. Now, at long last, she has her own biography. Finding Betty Crocker draws on six years of research...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Susan Marks Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like My Delicious Life with Paula Deen Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The highly visible Mr. Paula Deen: Michael Groover has his own adoring fans, who have gotten to know him from Paulas shows, books, and personal appearances. Now, five years into their romantic marriage, fans are clamoring for more about Michael and his everyday life with Paula. Michael has his own line of coffees and is poised to have additional products released soon.. A compelling life story: Michael will share stories of his life from before and after meeting Paula, from his quintessent...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael Groover Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Valerie Bertinelli, then: bubbly sitcom star and America's Sweetheart turned tabloid headline and rock star wife. Now: actress, single working mother of teenage rock star, and weight-loss inspiration to millions. We all knew and loved Valerie Bertinelli years ago when she played girl-next-door cutie Barbara Cooper in the hit TV show One Day at a Time, and then starred in numerous TV movies. From wholesome primetime in America's living rooms, Valerie moved to late nights with the hardest-partyi...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Valerie Bertinelli Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Confessions of an Heiress: A Tongue-in-Chic Peek Behind the Pose Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Confessions of an Heiress: A Tongue-in-Cheek Peek Behind the Pose by Paris Hilton with Merle GinsbergA Learjet's view of the fast, fun world of PARIS HILTON -- packed with enough photos, advice, and inside scoop to help anyone live a glamorous life.Paris Hilton has a lifestyle most girls dream about. Her name is on everyone's lips -- but can she help it if she was born rich and beautiful? Now, with her trademark sense of humor, Paris looks back on her rise to fame and reveals the delicious detai...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Paris Hilton Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Kris Jenner . . . And All Things Kardashian Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: You think you know her . . . The Kardashians are famous for letting it all hang out. Whether theyre moving cross-country, settling a family feud, dealing with heartbreak, or just having fun with one another, their lives are utterly relatable. No wonder America cant get enough. But what have Kourtney, Kim, Khlo, and the rest of the Kardashian clan got that we havent got? Off-the-charts beauty, millions of dollars, and Kris Jennerthe superstar mom and manager who made them into the family we ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Kris Jenner Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Naked Truth: The Real Story Behind the Real Housewife of New Jersey--In Her Own Words Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Meet the Real DanielleYouve seen her on The Real Housewives of New Jersey, turning heads, raising eyebrows, and igniting feuds with her feisty suburban neighbors. Now, the always fascinating Danielle Staub gets real about her scandalous past in the years most explosive tell-all memoir. . . .When she signed on to appear in a reality TV show, Danielle had no idea what she was getting herself into. Hoping for a new lease on life after her recent divorce, the single mother of two became the targe...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Danielle Staub Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Amarillo Slim in a World Full of Fat People: The Memoirs of the Greatest Gambler Who Ever Lived Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Amarillo Slim Preston has won $300,000 from Willie Neslon playing dominoes and $2 million from Larry Flynt playing poker. He has shuffled, dealt, and bluffed with some of twentieth-century's most famous figures. He beat Minnesota Fats at pool with a broom, Bobby Riggs at table tennis with a skillet, and Evel Knievel at golf with a carpenter's hammer. Amarillo Slim has gambled with 'em all, and left most of them wishing they hadn't.The memoirs of a living American icon, Amarillo Slim in a World F...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Amarillo Slim Preston and Greg Dinkin Publisher: Harper Collins

 

Similar Books Like The Art of Men (I Prefer Mine al Dente) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Emmy Award-winning actress Kirstie Alleys candid and audacious memoir about her life and the men she has shared it withfor better and for worse.John Travolta. Parker Stevenson. Ted Danson. Maksim Chmerkovskiy. Kelsey Grammer. Patrick Swayze. Woody Allen. Woody Harrelson. And many others. . . . In three decades in Hollywood, Kirstie Alley has lived with, worked with, loved, or lost all of these men, and in this revealing memoir, she peels back the layers (and sometimes the sheets) on her relati...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Kirstie Alley Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like My Days Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: "I am inclined to call this the last chapter, but how can an autobiography have a final chapter? At best, it can only be a penultimate one; nor can it be given a rounded-off conclusion, as is possible in a work of fiction." So begins the last chapter of My Days, the only memoir from R. K. Narayan, hailed as "India's most notable novelist and short-story writer" by the New York Times Book Review.In his usual winning, humorous style, R. K. Narayan shares his life story, beginning in his grandmothe...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: R. K. Narayan Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Everybody Was So Young: Gerald and Sara Murphy: A Lost Generation Love Story Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: New York Times Bestseller: A marvelously readable biography of the couple and their relationships with Picasso, Fitzgerald, and other icons of the era (The New York Times Book Review). Wealthy Americans with homes in Paris and on the French Riviera, Gerald and Sara Murphy were at the very center of expatriate cultural and social life during the modernist ferment of the 1920s. Gerald Murphywitty, urbane, and elusivewas a giver of magical parties and an acclaimed painter. Sara Murphy, an eni...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Amanda Vaill Publisher: HMH

Similar Books Like Elia Kazan: A Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Few figures in film and theater history tower like Elia Kazan. Born in 1909 to Greek parents in Istanbul, Turkey, he arrived in America with incomparable vision and drive, and by the 1950s he was the most important and influential director in the nation, simultaneously dominating both theater and film. His productions of A Streetcar Named Desire and Death of a Salesman reshaped the values of the stage. His films -- most notably On the Waterfront -- brought a new realism and a new intensity of pe...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Richard Schickel Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Why I Won't Be Going To Lunch Anymore: 21 Stories of the Santa Fe Painter's Life Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Outsiders seldom understand the curious amalgam of artists, galleries, misfits and hangers-on known as the Santa Fe Art Scene. In this collection of stories, we witness a group of Santa Fe painters confronting their art and life in creative ways, solving the ages-old problems of painting the perfect canvas, making that obstinate muse smile. Julia Brownell is a patrician beauty whose exhibition of gold-leafed paintings sells out on its opening night and creates an envious discord among her peers....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Douglas Atwill Publisher: Sunstone Press

Similar Books Like The Librettist of Venice: The Remarkable Life of Lorenzo Da Ponte--Mozart's Poet, Casanova's Friend, and Italian Opera's Impre Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In 1805, Lorenzo Da Ponte was the proprietor of a small grocery store in New York. But since his birth into an Italian Jewish family in 1749, he had already been a priest, a poet, the lover of many women, a scandalous Enlightenment thinker banned from teaching in Venice, the librettist for three of Mozart's most sublime operas, a collaborator with Salieri, a friend of Casanova, and a favorite of Emperor Joseph II. He would go on to establish New York City's first opera house and be the first pro... Audio language: English Authors: Rodney Bolt Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

LOAD MORE

 


Mrs. Woolf and the Servants: An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury Reviews and Comments:

amazon PD: Virginia Woolf was a feminist and a bohemian but without her servants – cooking, cleaning and keeping house - she might never have managed to write. Mrs Woolf and The Servants explores the ...
~ A Google user
it’s hard to resist the conclusion that the history of service is the history of British girls. Subtitled, "An Intimate History of Domestic Life in Bloomsbury," this ebook is a study of the British ...
~ A Google user
The largely untold stories of the live-in servants who eased, enriched, complicated and frustrated the domestic tranquility of Virginia Woolf and others in her circle.Light (History/Univ. of East ...
~ A Google user
Light (Forever England: Femininity, Literature and Conservatism Between the Fights) takes a different approach to Virginia Woolf by examining not only her life but also the lives of the domestic ...
~ A Google user
Virginia Woolf, like the rest of England's upper-middle class in the late 19th and early 20th century, relied heavily throughout her life on domestic support, both live-in and, later, everyday. Without ...
~ A Google user
The downside of this is that knowledge of her pennypinching and inappropriate victim complex will taint my reading of Woolf in future, though Light makes a target of putting the servants' experience in ...
~ A Google user
My own grandmother on my mother's side went into service at the age of 13 (this would have been in 1915). Perhaps it was a sign of the changing times that her mother allowed her to come home after a ...
~ A Google user
I read this ebook because I wanted to contrast the British early 20th century experience with The Support experience of service in the deep south of the early 60s. Mrs Woolf & the Servants confirmed the ...
~ A Google user
This was an awesome biography of Virginia Woolf and od her servants. The originator seems to have researched many aspects of her topics thoroughly and well. The interaction between Virginia Woolf and ...
~ A Google user
This is is a very complex treatment of Virginia Woolf's antipathy to servants due to her rather snobbish upbringing and her abhorrence of her body due to the sexual repression of the day and her own ...
~ A Google user
Light's literary exploration of the mutual dependency between Virginia Woolf and her live-in (exclusively female) domestic servants and, by extension, class exploration of that interdependency in ...
~ A Google user