4.0
Similar Books Like Long Life: Essays and Other Writings Alternatives
Long Life: Essays and Other Writings   
About: "The gift of Oliver's poetry is that she communicates the beauty she finds in the globe and makes it unforgettable" (Miami Herald). This has never been truer than in Long Life, a luminous collection of seventeen essays and ten poems."Poets gotta read and study, but also they gotta learn to tilt and whisper, cry, or dance, every in his or her own idea, or we might just as well copy the old ebooks. But, no, that would never do, for usually the newest self swimming around in the old globe feels itself uniquely verbal. And that is just the target: how the globe, moist and bountiful, calls to every of us to create a newest and serious response. That's the large question, the one the globe throws at you each morning. 'Here you are, alive. Would you like to create a comment?' This ebook is my comment."--from the ForewordWith consummate craftsmanship, Mary Oliver, master of the Pulitzer Prize a ... Show more
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / Literary Figures Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.0 Audio language: English Authors: Mary Oliver Publisher: Da Capo Press
Books like Long Life: Essays and Other Writings and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Long Life: Essays and Other Writings but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Long Life: Essays and Other Writings Similar Books

Long Life: Essays and Other Writings similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Long Life: Essays and Other Writings:
Similar Books Like Me Talk Pretty One Day Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A new collection from David Sedaris is cause for jubilation. His recent move to Paris has inspired hilarious pieces, including Me Talk Pretty One Day, about his attempts to learn French. His family is another inspiration. You Cant Kill the Rooster is a portrait of his brother who talks incessant hip-hop slang to his bewildered father. And no one hones a finer fury in response to such modern annoyances as restaurant meals presented in ludicrous towers and cashiers with 6-inch fingernails. Compare...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Sedaris Publisher: Back Bay Books

Similar Books Like The Year of Magical Thinking Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From one of Americas iconic writers, a stunning book of electric honesty and passion. Joan Didion explores an intensely personal yet universal experience: a portrait of a marriageand a life, in good times and badthat will speak to anyone who has ever loved a husband or wife or child.Several days before Christmas 2003, John Gregory Dunne and Joan Didion saw their only daughter, Quintana, fall ill with what seemed at first flu, then pneumonia, then complete septic shock. She was put into an ind...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Joan Didion Publisher: Vintage

Similar Books Like Boy with Loaded Gun: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Lewis Nordan is famous for his special vision of the Mississippi Delta. His characters, for whom the closest-though hopelessly inadequate-description might be "eccentrics," share the stage with swamp elves and midgets living in the backyard. His fiction is unlike anybody else's and is as dark, hilarious, and affecting as any ever written. It's also writing that lays bare the agony of adolescence and plows, as the Cleveland Plain Dealer once put it, "the fields of puzzling wonder that precede th...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Lewis Nordan Publisher: Algonquin Books

Similar Books Like I Hate to Leave This Beautiful Place: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Some books celebrate the human condition; others commiserate with us. This memoir does both. Helen Oyeyemi, NPR This spellbinding memoir by the National Book Awardnominated author of The Bird Artist begins with a portrait, both harrowing and hilarious, of a midwestern boys summer working in a bookmobile, under the shadow of his grifter father and the erotic tutelage of his brothers girlfriend. Howard Normans life story continues in places as far-flung as the Arctic, where he spends part o...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Howard Norman Publisher: HMH

Similar Books Like Unpacking the Boxes: A Memoir of a Life in Poetry Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Donald Halls remarkable life in poetry a career capped by his appointment as U.S. poet laureate in 2006 comes alive in this richly detailed, self-revealing memoir.Halls invaluable record of the making of a poet begins with his childhood in Depression-era suburban Connecticut, where he first realized poetry was secret, dangerous, wicked, and delicious, and ends with what he calls the planet of antiquity, a time of life dramatically punctuated by his appointment as poet laureate of the U...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Donald Hall Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like Unlikely Collaboration: Gertrude Stein, Bernard Faÿ, and the Vichy Dilemma Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In 1941, the Jewish American writer and avant-garde icon Gertrude Stein embarked on one of the strangest intellectual projects of her life: translating for an American audience the speeches of Marshal Philippe Ptain, head of state for the collaborationist Vichy government. From 1941 to 1943, Stein translated thirty-two of Ptain's speeches, in which he outlined the Vichy policy barring Jews and other "foreign elements" from the public sphere while calling for France to reconcile with Nazi occup...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Barbara Will Publisher: Columbia University Press

Similar Books Like Shakespeare's Lost Kingdom: The True History of Shakespeare and Elizabeth Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A book for anyone who loves Shakespeare... One of the most scandalous and potentially revolutionary theories about the authorship of these immortal works. Mark Rylance, First Artistic Director of Shakespeares Globe Theatre It is perhaps the greatest story never told: the truth behind the most enduring works of literature in the English language, perhaps in any language. Who was William Shakespeare? Critically acclaimed historian Charles Beauclerk has spent more than two decades resear...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Charles Beauclerk Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

 

Similar Books Like A Writer's Diary Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In her journals and writing exercises, this novelist comes to us with all the brilliance, perceptiveness, and restraint we could wish (Kirkus Reviews). From 1918 to 1941, even as she penned masterpiece upon masterpiece, Virginia Woolf kept a diary. She poured into it her thoughts, feelings, concerns, objections, interests, and disappointmentsresulting in twenty-six volumes that give unprecedented insight into the mind of a genius. Collected here are the passages most relevant to her work an...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Virginia Woolf Publisher: HMH

Similar Books Like Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The true story behind the iconic fictional detective is a fascinating chapter in the history of publishing (The Seattle Times). An Edgar Award Winner for Best Biography and a Chicago Tribune Best Book of the Year The plucky titian-haired sleuth solved her first mystery in 1930and eighty million books later, Nancy Drew has survived the Depression, World War II, and the sixties (when she was taken up with a vengeance by womens libbers) to enter the pantheon of American culture. As belove...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Melanie Rehak Publisher: HMH

Similar Books Like The Diary of Anais Nin Volume 1 1931-1934: Vol. 1 (1931-1934), Volume 1 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This celebrated volume begins when Nin is about to publish her first book and ends when she leaves Paris for New York. Edited and with a Preface by Gunther tuhlmann; Index....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Anaïs Nin Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like A Memoir Of Jane Austen Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A Memoir of Jane Austen is the Austen familys memoir of the beloved 19th century English novelist. Written and compiled by Austens nephew, James Edward Austen-Leigh, A Memoir of Jane Austen reveals the author as her family knew her, while at the same time protecting the authors privacy in keeping with the Victorian conventions of the time. A Memoir of Jane Austen did, however, reveal for the first time Austens authorship of such classic stories as Pride and Prejudice, Emma, and Sense and Sen...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James Edward Austen-Leigh Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Painted Shadow: The Life of Vivienne Eliot, First Wife of T. S. Eliot Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: By the time Vivienne Eliot was committed to an asylum for what would be the final nine years of her life, she had been abandoned by her husband T.S. Eliot and shunned by literary London. Yet Vivienne was neither insane nor insignificant. She generously collaborated in her husbands literary efforts, taking dictation, editing his drafts, and writing articles for his magazine, Criterion. Her distinctive voice can be heard in his poetry. And paradoxically, it was the unhappiness of the Eliots marr...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Carole Seymour-Jones Publisher: Anchor

Similar Books Like The Devil at Large: Erica Jong on Henry Miller Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Fearless, iconic poet, novelist, and feminist Erica Jong offers a fascinating in-depth appreciation of the controversial life and work of American literary giant Henry MillerHenry Miller (Tropic of Cancer) and Erica Jong (Fear of Flying) are true literary soul mates. Both authors have been, in equal measure, lauded for their creative genius and maligned for their frank treatment of human sexuality. So who better than Erica Jong to offer an expert appraisal and appreciation of Henry Miller, the m...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Erica Jong Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like What There Is to Say We Have Said: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and William Maxwell Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Letters revealing a lost literary worldand a unique friendship between a brilliant author and a New Yorker editor. For over fifty years, Eudora Welty and William Maxwell, two of our most admired writers, penned letters to each other. They shared their worries about work and family, literary opinions and scuttlebutt, and moments of despair and hilarity. Living half a continent apart, their friendship was nourished and maintained by their correspondence. What There Is to Say We Have Said bears...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Suzanne Marrs Publisher: HMH

 

Similar Books Like The Peabody Sisters: Three Women Who Ignited American Romanticism Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Pulitzer Prize Finalist: A stunning work of biography about three little-known New England women who made intellectual history (The New York Times). Elizabeth, Mary, and Sophia Peabody were in many ways the American Bronts. The story of these remarkable sistersand their central role in shaping the thinking of their dayhas never before been fully told. Twenty years in the making, Megan Marshalls monumental biography brings the era of creative ferment known as American Romanticism to new lif...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Megan Marshall Publisher: HMH

Similar Books Like Zelda: A Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Zelda Sayre started out as a Southern beauty, became an international wonder, and died by fire in a madhouse. With her husband, F. Scott Fitzgerald, she moved in a golden aura of excitement, romance, and promise. The epitome of the Jazz Age, they rode the crest of the era to its collapse and their own.As a result of years of exhaustive research, Nancy Milford brings alive the tormented, elusive personality of Zelda and clarifies as never before her relationship with Scott Fitzgerald. Zelda trace...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Nancy Milford Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Virginia Woolf: The Will to Create as a Woman Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This groundbreaking study of the work and legacy of Virginia Woolf is also an account of the intertwined lives of two extraordinary women. In 1932, Ruth Gruber earned her PhDthe youngest person ever to do sowith a stunning doctoral dissertation on Virginia Woolf. Published in 1935, the paper was the first-ever feminist critique of Woolfs work and inspired a series of correspondences between the two writers. It also led to Grubers eventual meeting with Woolf, which she recounted six decades ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Ruth Gruber Publisher: Open Road Media

 


Long Life: Essays and Other Writings Reviews and Comments:

Does it bother Mary Oliver that her sense of nature is so easy? That it is so simple to achieve the lyricism she is after? (Really, it’s simple. She claims she works hard, and I don’t doubt her, but these ...
~ A Google user
Pulitzer Prize-winning originator Oliver is finest known for her collections of poetry (e.g., The Leaf and the Cloud). She is also the originator of A Poetry Handbook, one of the quintessential softwares of ...
~ A Google user
Beautifully written. Simple to dip in and out of, but every bit I read is like a short, sharp-aired walk in the mountains.
~ A Google user
I haven't read an abundance of Ms. Oliver's poetry, but what I have read, I love. The trouble that I had with this ebook (and that trouble is simply my own, most likely) is that it is such a hodgepodge ...
~ A Google user