5.0
Similar Books Like Ethel Merman: A Life Alternatives
Ethel Merman: A Life   
About: Kellows chronology is dishy and seamless; he understands the dynamics of the theater globe and makes you feel the exhilaration of an evolving hit and the frustrations inherent in working with a performer like Merman.The Newest York Times Book Review[Kellow] has painted a vivid portrait of a Broadway diva who shone brighter and sang louder than anyone else.The Washington Post BookWorldMore than twenty years after her death, Ethel Merman continues to set the standard for American musical theater. The stories about the supremely talented, famously powerful-willed, fearsomely blunt, and terrifyingly exacting girl are equipment of legend. But who was Ethel Agnes Zimmermann, really? Brian Kellows definitive biography of the nice Merman is magnificent, and the first profile to examine both the artist and the girl with as much critical rigor as empathy. Through variety of interviews with her co ... Show more
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / Entertainment & Performing Arts Rotten Tomatoes® score: 5.0 Audio language: English Authors: Brian Kellow Publisher: Penguin
Books like Ethel Merman: A Life and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Ethel Merman: A Life but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Ethel Merman: A Life Similar Books

Ethel Merman: A Life similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Ethel Merman: A Life:
Similar Books Like Rhett & Link's Book of Mythicality: A Field Guide to Curiosity, Creativity, and Tomfoolery Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom the YouTube superstars and creators ofGood Mythical Morningcomes the ultimate guide to living a Mythical life, featuring stories and photos from their lifelong friendship, as well as awesomely illustrated guides, charts, and activities aimed at laughing more, learning more, and never taking yourself too seriously. Thanks for reading this description. Youre obviously a curious person, which means youve already taken your first step towards achieving Mythic...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal Publisher: Crown Archetype

Similar Books Like Recovery: Freedom from Our Addictions Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A guide to all kinds of addiction from a star who has struggled with heroin, alcohol, sex, fame, food and eBay, that will help addicts and their loved ones make the first steps into recoveryThis manual for self-realization comes not from a mountain but from the mud...My qualification is not that I am better than you but I am worse. Russell BrandWith a rare mix of honesty, humor, and compassion, comedian and movie star Russell Brand mines his own wild story and shares the advice and wisdom he ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Russell Brand Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Similar Books Like Howard Stern Comes Again Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Rock stars and rap gods. Comedy legends and A-list actors. Supermodels and centerfolds. Moguls and mobsters. A president. Over his unrivaled four-decade career in radio, Howard Stern has interviewed thousands of personalitiesdiscussing sex, relationships, money, fame, spirituality, and success with the boldest of bold-faced names. But which interviews are his favorites? Its one of the questions he gets asked most frequently. Howard Stern Comes Again delivers his answer. This book is a feast of...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Howard Stern Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Why Not Me? Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From the author of the beloved New York Times bestselling book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and the creator and star of The Mindy Project comes a collection of essays that are as hilarious and insightful as they are deeply personal. In Why Not Me?, Kaling shares her ongoing journey to find contentment and excitement in her adult life, whether its falling in love at work, seeking new friendships in lonely places, attempting to be the first person in history to lose weight without any be...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Mindy Kaling Publisher: Crown Archetype

Similar Books Like This Is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Gabourey Sidibes delightful memoir offers a memorable look into what happens when a black girls dreams come true, from the inside out. Sidibe is fearless, incredibly funny, and gorgeously open. What she offers of herself in these pages is a gift.Roxane Gay InThis Is Just My Face,Gabourey Sidibethe gives-zero-effs queen of Hollywood AND perceptive best friend in your head (Lena Dunham)paints her unconventional rise to fame with full-throttle honesty. Sidibetells engrossing,inspirin...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Gabourey Sidibe Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like Life of the Party: Stories of a Perpetual Man-Child Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A collection of outrageous stories by the standup comic, TV host, and inspiration for the movie National Lampoon's Van WilderBert Kreischer doesn't know how to say "no." If he did, he wouldn't have gotten himself mixed up with a group of Russian mobsters on a class trip to Moscow, earning him his nickname: "The Machine." He wouldn't have wrestled with a bear or swum with sharks on national television. He wouldn't have (possibly) smoked PCP with a star of Saturday Night Live. And he wouldn't have...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Bert Kreischer Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Similar Books Like I Hate Myselfie: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: New York Times Bestseller Publishers Weekly Bestseller Los Angeles Times Bestseller Wall Street Journal Bestseller A brilliant, hilarious, and honest essay collection from #1 New York Times bestselling author and YouTube sensation Shane Dawson about how messy life can get when youre growing up but how rewarding it can feel when the clean-up is (pretty much) done.From his first vlog back in 2008 to his full-length film directorial debut Not Cool, Shane Dawson has been an open book when it ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Shane Dawson Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like My First Five Husbands...And the Ones Who Got Away Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Rue McClanahan, best known for her portrayal of Blanche Devereaux on the Emmy-award winning series The Golden Girls reveals her life in and out of the spotlight in a laugh-out-loud funny memoir about love, marriage, men, and getting older that is every bit as colorful as the characters she played. Raised in small-town Oklahoma in a house thirteen telephone poles past the standpipe north of town, Rue developed her two great passionstheater and menat an early age. She arrived in New York City ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Rue McClanahan Publisher: Three Rivers Press

Similar Books Like Failure Is an Option: An Attempted Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Writing this funny requires immense talent. AV ClubH. Jon Benjaminthe lead voice behind Archer and Bob's Burgershelps us all feel a little better about our own failures by sharing his own in a hilarious memoir-ish chronicle of failure.Most people would consider H. Jon Benjamin a comedy show business success. But he'd like to remind everyone that as great as success can be, failure is also an option. And maybe the best option. In this book, he tells stories from his own life, from his early ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: H. Jon Benjamin Publisher: Penguin

Similar Books Like Eric Morecambe Unseen: The Lost Diaries, Jokes and Photographs Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This is a completely original book on Eric Morecambe, one of the UKs best-loved entertainers. Containing diary entries, unseen photographs and personal letters, this is the most revealing book yet on Morecambe. Posthumously voted 'Comedian of the Century' in 1999 and reaching number 4 in the recent 'Comedian's Comedian Top 50' on Channel 4, Eric Morecambe remains one of Britain's greatest and best-loved comedians. But even at the height of his success, Eric Morecambe feared his days were number...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: William Cook Publisher: HarperCollins UK

Similar Books Like She Always Knew How: Mae West, a Personal Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In She Always Knew How, her wonderful new biography of legendary actress Mae West, acclaimed biographer Charlotte Chandler draws on a series of interviews she conducted with the star just months before her death in 1980. From their first meeting, where West held out a diamond-covered hand in greeting and lamented her interviewer's lack of jewels, to their farewell, where the star was still gamely offering advice on how to attract men, Mae West and Charlotte Chandler developed a warm rapport that...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Charlotte Chandler Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Mae Murray (1885--1965), popularly known as "the girl with the bee-stung lips," was a fiery presence in silent-era Hollywood. Renowned for her classic beauty and charismatic presence, she rocketed to stardom as a dancer in the Ziegfeld Follies, moving across the country to star in her first film, To Have and to Hold, in 1916. An instant hit with audiences, Murray soon became one of the most famous names in Tinseltown.However, Murray's moment in the spotlight was fleeting. The introduction of tal...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Michael G. Ankerich Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

Similar Books Like Julie Andrews: An Intimate Biography Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Julie Andrews is the last of the great Hollywood musical stars, unequaled by any in her time.In My Fair Lady, Julie Andrews had the biggest hit on Broadway. As the title character in Mary Poppins, she won an Academy Award. And, in 1965, The Sound of Music made her the most famous woman in the world and rescued Twentieth Century Fox from bankruptcy. Three years later, the disastrous Star! almost put the studio back under, and the leading lady of both films fell as spectacularly as she had risen.H...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Richard Stirling Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Similar Books Like A Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: 860 glittering pages (Janet Maslin, The New York Times): The first volume of the full-scale astonishing life of one of our greatest screen actresses; her work, her world, her Hollywood through an American century.Frank Capra called her, The greatest emotional actress the screen has yet known. Now Victoria Wilson gives us the first volume of the rich, complex life of Barbara Stanwyck, an actress whose career in pictures spanned four decades beginning with the coming of sound (eighty-eight mot...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Victoria Wilson Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like American Showman: Samuel "Roxy" Rothafel and the Birth of the Entertainment Industry, 1908–1935 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Samuel "Roxy" Rothafel (18821936) built an influential and prolific career as film exhibitor, stage producer, radio broadcaster, musical arranger, theater manager, war propagandist, and international celebrity. He helped engineer the integration of film, music, and live performance in silent film exhibition; scored early Fox Movietone films such as Sunrise (1927); pioneered the convergence of film, broadcasting, and music publishing and recording in the 1920s; and helped movies and moviegoing b... Audio language: English Authors: Ross Melnick Publisher: Columbia University Press

Similar Books Like Boys in the Trees: A Memoir Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Carly Simon's New York Times bestselling memoir, Boys in the Trees, reveals her remarkable life, beginning with her storied childhood as the third daughter of Richard L. Simon, the co-founder of publishing giant Simon & Schuster, her musical debut as half of The Simon Sisters performing folk songs with her sister Lucy in Greenwich Village, to a meteoric solo career that would result in 13 top 40 hits, including the #1 song "You're So Vain." She was the first artist in history to win a Grammy Awa...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Carly Simon Publisher: Flatiron Books

Similar Books Like Sex, Drugs, Ratt & Roll: My Life in Rock Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A jaw-dropping tell-all from the lead singer of the 1980s supergroup Ratt: the groupies, the trashed hotel rooms, the drugsand just how much you can get away with when youre one of the biggest hair metal stars of all time.Women. Spandex. Drugs. Hair spray...Welcome to heavy metal rock n roll, circa 1980, when all you needed was the right look, burning ambition, and a chance. Stephen Pearcy and supergroup Ratt hit the bulls-eye. What they did with their fame and fortune is a riotous tale of....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen Pearcy and Sam Benjamin Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like It's No Secret: From Nas to Jay-Z, from Seduction to Scandal--a Hip-Hop Helen of Troy Tells All Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Carmen Bryan is no stranger to the rap world. Not only did she work at Def Jam and Capitol Records but she shares a daughter with hip-hop superstar Nas -- a relationship made extremely public through Nas's celebrity status, rap lyrics, and the ever-present media. Now, in It's No Secret, a strong, resilient Carmen bares all, telling her side of the story and leaving no detail unturned -- with the true candor and raw emotion of someone who has been there, done that, and survived. From a clandest...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Carmen Bryan Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Death Punch'd: Surviving Five Finger Death Punch's Metal Mayhem Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From the cofounder of Five Finger Death Punch, a fascinating inside account of one of the most successful heavy-metal bands of the past decade, and a revealing personal journey through the wild highs and terrifying lows of the rock and roll lifestylea wry and rollicking tale of music, addiction, and recovery.Hailed by the New York Times as one of the most unexpectedly consistently popular bands on the rock charts, Five Finger Death Punch has become the new heavyweight champ of the metal scene. ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jeremy Spencer Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like I Am Charlie Wilson Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The long-awaited New York Times bestselling memoir of seven-time Grammy-nominated artist Charlie Wilson, the iconic R&B and Funk singer-songwriter-producer and former lead singer of The Gap Bandinterwoven with his recollections of collaborating with fellow artists such as Stevie Wonder, Kanye West, and Snoop Dogg.Recognized the world over for his distinct voice and timeless hits spanning a career of nearly half a century, Charlie Wilson is one of the most celebrated musicians of his generation....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Charlie Wilson Publisher: Simon and Schuster

LOAD MORE

 


Ethel Merman: A Life Reviews and Comments:

Usually an old style Broadway fan, I thoroughly enjoyed this read. What a tribute to an honest, nice girl, warts and all. The research and care the originator gives to the claiming of the storyline of a profound talent is evident on each page. Bravo, Mr. Kellow!
~ Susan Anderson