4.5
Similar Books Like Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir Alternatives
Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir   
About: Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal profile of the travel that led her to become an international superstar in this moving storyline of an American musical original (Kirkus Reviews).Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant profile of the travel that led her to become an international superstarfrom her years growing up in Queens, Newest York, to the making of enduring hits like Time After Time, Women Just Need to Have Fun, and Real Colors, to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a song career that has lasted more than thirty years. After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, gal Friday the thirteenth, as she pursued her passion for song. She worked her idea up testing tiny gigs and broke out in 1983 with Shes So Unusual, w ... Show more
Genre: Biography & Autobiography / Entertainment & Performing Arts Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.5 Audio language: English Authors: Cyndi Lauper Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Books like Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir Similar Books

Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir:
Similar Books Like Stargazer: The Life, World and Films of Andy Warhol Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The classic study of a man who redrew the boundaries of artAndy Warhols work and personality changed American visual culture forever, making him an international superstar. His rise to global fame, his entanglement with the seedy New York sexual underground, and the shocking assassination attempt that almost ended his life are chronicled in Stephen Kochs indispensible classicStargazer.In this must-read volume, Stephen Koch provides unprecedented detail on Warhols life and work, giving partic...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Stephen Koch Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like Moving Pictures: Memories of a Hollywood Prince Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The Oscar-winning screenwriter of On the Waterfront recounts his life, his career, and how Hollywood became the dream factory it still is today (Kirkus Reviews). When Seymour Wilson Budd Schulberg moved from New York to Los Angeles as a child, Hollywoods filmmaking industry was just getting started. To some, the region was still more famous for its citrus farms than its movie studios. In this iconic memoir, Schulberg, the son of one of Tinseltowns most influential producers, recounts the...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Budd Schulberg Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like The Film That Changed My Life: 30 Directors on Their Epiphanies in the Dark Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Spanning several generations--from newcomers to Oscar Award-winning veterans--this volume features a discussion of the movies that shaped the careers of these filmmakers and, in turn, cinema history. Here directors, including Peter Bogdanovich, Kimberly Peirce, Arthur Hiller, and John Waters, explore the film they saw at an especially formative moment, how it influenced their own work--or, in some cases, led them to tell stories through movies themselves--and the effects it had on their thoughts...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Robert K. Elder Publisher: Chicago Review Press

Similar Books Like Alfred Hitchcock: A Life in Darkness and Light Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Alfred Hitchcock: A Life in Darkness and Light is the definitive biography of the Master of Suspense and the most widely recognized film director of all time.In a career that spanned six decades and produced more than 60 films including The 39 Steps, Vertigo, Psycho, and The Birds Alfred Hitchcock set new standards for cinematic invention and storytelling. Acclaimed biographer Patrick McGilligan re-examines his life and extraordinary work, challenging perceptions of Hitchcock as the macabre...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Patrick McGilligan Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Making Tootsie: A Film Study with Dustin Hoffman and Sydney Pollack Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A perceptive and provocative work.Los Angeles TimesA stunning job of research, observation and reporting.Larry Gelbart, co-writer of Tootsie and writer on TVs M*A*S*H*This fluid, marvelously detailed book goes a long way toward explaining why Tootsie has already achieved a reputation as a classic film comedy.PeopleMaking Tootsie is back, three decades after the creation of the blockbuster Hollywood motion picture that the American Film Institute rated as #2 on its list of the 100 Be...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Susan Dworkin Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like Writing Movies for Fun and Profit: How We Made a Billion Dollars at the Box Office and You Can, Too! Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This is the only screenwriting guide by two guys who have actually done it (instead of some schmuck who just gives lectures about screenwriting at the airport Marriott); These guys are proof that with no training and little education, ANYONE can make it as a screenwriter (Paul Rudd).Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennons movies have made over a billion dollars at the box officeand now they show you how to do it yourself! This book is full of secret insider information about how to conquer the ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Lion of Hollywood: The Life and Legend of Louis B. Mayer Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Lion of Hollywood is the definitive biography of Louis B. Mayer, the chief of Metro-Goldwyn-MayerMGMthe biggest and most successful film studio of Hollywoods Golden Age.An immigrant from tsarist Russia, Mayer began in the film business as an exhibitor but soon migrated to where the action and the power wereHollywood. Through sheer force of energy and foresight, he turned his own modest studio into MGM, where he became the most powerful man in Hollywood, bending the film business to his will....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Scott Eyman Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like Notes on a Cowardly Lion: The Biography of Bert Lahr Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: John Lahrs stunning and complex biography of his father, the legendary actor and comedian Bert Lahr Notes on a Cowardly Lion is John Lahrs masterwork: an all-encompassing biography of his father, the comedian and performer Bert Lahr. Best known as the Cowardly Lion in MGMs classic The Wizard of Oz, Lahr was a consummate artist whose career spanned burlesque, vaudeville, Broadway, and Hollywood. While he could be equally raucous and polished in public, Lahr was painfully insecure and self-abs...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: John Lahr Publisher: Open Road Media

Similar Books Like The Best Film You've Never Seen: 35 Directors Champion the Forgotten Or Critically Savaged Movies They Love Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Revealing a festival of guilty pleasures, almost-masterpieces, and undeniable classics in need of revival, 35 directors champion their favorite overlooked or critically savaged gems in this guide. The list includes unsung noir films "The Chase" and "Murder by Contract," famous flops "Can't Stop the Music" and "Joe Versus the Volcano," art films "L'ange" and "WR: Mysteries of the Organism," theatrical adaptations "The Iceman Cometh" and "The Homecoming," B-movies "Killer Klowns from Outer Space" ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Robert K. Elder Publisher: Chicago Review Press

Similar Books Like John Waters: Interviews Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The films of John Waters (b. 1946) are some of the most powerful send-ups of conventional film forms and expectations since Luis Bu-uel and Salvador Dali's Un Chien Andalou. In attempting to reinvigorate the experience of movie-going with his shock comedy, Waters has been willing to take the chance of offending nearly everyone. His characters have great dignity and resourcefulness, taking what's different or unacceptable or grotesque about themselves, heightening it and turning it into a handmad...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James Egan Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

Similar Books Like As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes the New York Times bestselling account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.The Princess Bride has been a fami...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Cary Elwes and Joe Layden Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Jaws Log: 30th Anniversary Edition Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Winner of three Oscars and the highest-grossing film of its time, Jaws was a phenomenon, and this is the only book on how twenty-six-year-old Steven Spielberg transformed Peter Benchley's number-one bestselling novel into the classic film it became.Hired by Spielberg as a screenwriter to work with him on the set while the movie was being made, Carl Gottlieb, an actor and writer, was there throughout the production that starred Roy Scheider, Robert Shaw, and Richard Dreyfuss. After filming was ov...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Carl Gottlieb Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like My Lunches with Orson: Conversations between Henry Jaglom and Orson Welles Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Based on long-lost recordings, a set of riveting and revealing conversations with America's great cultural provocateurThere have long been rumors of a lost cache of tapes containing private conversations between Orson Welles and his friend the director Henry Jaglom, recorded over regular lunches in the years before Welles died. The tapes, gathering dust in a garage, did indeed exist, and this book reveals for the first time what they contain.Here is Welles as he has never been seen before: talki...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Peter Biskind Publisher: Metropolitan Books

Similar Books Like Hollywood Monster: A Walk Down Elm Street with the Man of Your Dreams Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Robert Englund, legendary star of A Nightmare on Elm Street, peels back the Freddy Krueger mask and reveals the stuff of every horror buffs dreams.ONE...TWO...FREDDY'S COMING FOR YOU... You've seen him in the A Nightmare on Elm Street seriesand in your darkest dreams. The sadistic killer with the flame-charred face. The knife-blade claws. The razor-sharp wit. Freddy...But you've never seen him like this. Unflinching. Uncensored. Unmasked. Meet Robert Englund, the award-winning actor best know...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Robert Englund and Alan Goldsher Publisher: Simon and Schuster

 

Similar Books Like Fosse Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
4.0

About: Now the FX limited series Fosse/Verdon starring Sam Rockwell and Michelle Williams with Lin-Manuel Miranda executive producing. Wasson is a smart and savvy reporter, and his book abounds with colorful firsthand tales. Janet Maslin, New York Times Fascinating . . . Wasson has taken complete control of his subject. Wall Street Journal The only person ever to win Oscar, Emmy, and Tony awards in the same year, Bob Fosse revolutionized nearly every facet of American entertainment. His signat...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sam Wasson Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like The Kid Stays in the Picture: A Notorious Life Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Robert Evans' The Kid Stays in the Picture is universally recognized as the greatest, most outrageous, and most unforgettable show business memoir ever written. The basis of an award-winning documentary film, it remains the gold standard of Hollywood storytelling.With black-and-white photographs from the author's archive and a new introduction by the legendary actor, producer, and Hollywood studio chief Robert Evans, The Kid Stays in the Picture is driven by a voice as charming and irresistible...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Robert Evans Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like The Reluctant Film Art of Woody Allen Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: For three decades, no American filmmaker has been as prolificor as paradoxicalas Woody Allen. From Play It Again, Sam (1972) through Celebrity (1998) and Sweet and Lowdown (1999), Allen has produced an average of one film a year, yet in many of these films Allen reveals a progressively skeptical attitude toward both the value of art and the cultural contributions of artists. In examining Allens filmmaking career, The Reluctant Film Art of Woody Allen demonstrates that his movies often questio...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Peter Bailey Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

Similar Books Like The Immortal Count: The Life and Films of Bela Lugosi Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Bela Lugosi won immediate fame for his portrayal of the immortal count in the 1931 film Dracula. After a decade of trying vainly to broaden his range and secure parts to challenge his acting abilities, Lugosi resigned himself to a career as the world's most recognizable vampire. His last years were spent as a forgotten and rather tragic figure. When he died in 1956, Lugosi could not have known that vindication of his talent would come -- his face would adorn theaters, his image would appear on g...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Arthur Lennig Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

Similar Books Like Girls Like Us: Carole King, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon--And the Journey of a Generation Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A groundbreaking and irresistible biography of three of America's most important musical artistsCarole King, Joni Mitchell, and Carly Simoncharts their lives as women at a magical moment in time.Carole King, Joni Mitchell, and Carly Simon remain among the most enduring and important women in popular music. Each woman is distinct. Carole King is the product of outer-borough, middle-class New York City; Joni Mitchell is a granddaughter of Canadian farmers; and Carly Simon is a child of the Manha...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sheila Weller Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like The Story of the Trapp Family Singers Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: With nearly 1,500 Broadway performances, six Tony Awards, more than three million albums sold, and five Academy Awards, The Sound of Music, based on the lives of Maria, the baron, and their singing children, is as familiar to most of us as our own family history. But much about the real-life woman and her family was left untold.Here, Baroness Maria Augusta Trapp tells in her own beautiful, simple words the extraordinary story of her romance with the baron, their escape from Nazi-occupied Austria...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Maria von Trapp Publisher: Harper Collins

LOAD MORE

 


Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir Reviews and Comments:

Cyndi Lauper’s autobiography launches with her running away from home to escape her step-father the sexual predator. Things don’t obtain much better for her for quite some time- some truly horrific things ...
~ A Google user
Cyndi Lauper’s autobiography launches with her running away from home to escape her step-father the sexual predator. Things don’t obtain much better for her for quite some time- some truly horrific things ...
~ A Google user
With the assistance of Dunn (Why Is My Mother Getting a Tattoo?: And Another Questions I Want I Never Had to Ask, 2009, etc.), Lauper Claims her alternately harrowing, hopeful and hilarious life storyline ...
~ A Google user
An interesting but uneven ebook. Cyndi Lauper has had a challenge-filled life and offers many positive reflections on getting through difficulties and remaining real to one's own vision. Lots of ...
~ A Google user
Was a fan before, more so actually.
~ Msmaremac Macklin
Cyndi Lauper is a nice person and a real survivor ! I found nice inspiration in this ebook. I suggest this ebook to anyone getting or going into the song business .
~ Victoria Robinson
Was very excited to read about it, but some parts was just to boring. Where I found myself stopping and picking the ebook back up.
~ Stephen Colvin