4.1
Similar Books Like Color: A Natural History of the Palette Alternatives
Color: A Natural History of the Palette   
About: In this vivid and captivating travel through the colors of an artists palette, Victoria Finlay takes us on an enthralling journey around the globe and through the ages, illuminating how the colors we pick to value have determined the history of culture itself.How did the most precious color blue travel all the idea from remote lapis mines in Afghanistan to Michelangelos brush? What is the connection between brown paint and ancient Egyptian mummies? Why did Robin Hood wear Lincoln green? In Color, Finlay explores the physical materials that color our globe, such as precious minerals and insect blood, as well as the social and political meanings that color has carried through time.Roman emperors used to wear togas dyed with a purple color that was made from an odorous Lebanese shellfishwhich probably meant their scent preceded them. In the eighteenth century, black dye was named logwood a ... Show more
Genre: Art / Color Theory Rotten Tomatoes® score: 4.1 Audio language: English Authors: Victoria Finlay Publisher: Random House
Books like Color: A Natural History of the Palette and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Color: A Natural History of the Palette but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Color: A Natural History of the Palette Similar Books

Color: A Natural History of the Palette similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Color: A Natural History of the Palette:
Similar Books Like Reductionism in Art and Brain Science: Bridging the Two Cultures Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Are art and science separated by an unbridgeable divide? Can they find common ground? In this new book, neuroscientist Eric R. Kandel, whose remarkable scientific career and deep interest in art give him a unique perspective, demonstrates how science can inform the way we experience a work of art and seek to understand its meaning. Kandel illustrates how reductionismthe distillation of larger scientific or aesthetic concepts into smaller, more tractable componentshas been used by scientists an...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Eric Kandel Publisher: Columbia University Press

 


Color: A Natural History of the Palette Reviews and Comments:

A well-rounded exploration of the properties and associations of colors from an engagingly personal vantage.Finlay, former arts editor for the South China Morning Post, is a British citizen living in ...
~ A Google user
A personal travelog that attempts to deliever a history of artists' pigments, this first ebook by Hong Kong-based journalist Finlay is organized by color: ochre, red, orange, etc. Every chapter involves ...
~ A Google user
I've been meaning to read this ebook for ages, since I first found it in a bookstore, and I wasn't disappointed. There were times when I wanted more continuity, and more references so I should pursue ...
~ A Google user
Victoria Finlay already gained one large fan when I first read her Jewels: A Secret History. This ebook preceded Jewels although the style is the same - part travelogue, part history. The originator gets to ...
~ A Google user
A very readable storyline of one girl's quest to learn the stories of the old dyes and pigments. In the process she uncovered the rise and fall of entire industries, cities built on a particular color ...
~ A Google user
In a globe where supply and demand deliver virtually each color of the rainbow to the doorsteps of consumers on a everyday basis, it is hard to imagine the limited palettes of our ancestors. I found ...
~ A Google user
Victoria Findlay is a journalist who takes us on a very entertaining travel through the rainbow of colours used by painters and dyers through the centuries (and millenia). She manages the right mix ...
~ A Google user
Colour is one of my all-time-favourites and a ebook that I often think about and refer to. And, whenever I think of it, I just wish to read it again. Finlay became fascinated by colours when she saw ...
~ A Google user
I want I'd held on to this ebook, because I regularly search myself trying to remember how a particular colour or dye is made. All I remember is the storyline about yellow being extracted from Indian mango ...
~ A Google user
In the past, I've read whole ebooks on single colors, but putting so many colors together in a single volume allows them to really test off every another and build into a even more potent history ...
~ A Google user
The material is fascinating enough to create the rather plodding writing worth following. The originator clearly has passion for the topic, but somehow this gets lost in the rather dry prose. It should have been so much better.
~ A Google user
One of the fastest, finest non-fiction reads. I want there had been more chapters, looking at more colors and facets of art and social history.
~ A Google user
Where do we obtain all the unbelievable colors for dyes and paints? Yet other ebook I received too late and raced through, trying to catch up. I hereby resolve to not race through other ebook; reading too speedy spoils the fun.
~ A Google user
Chatty, warm, and full of interesting facts insouciantly intrepid travelogue.... delicious.
~ A Google user
I have to admit that I only got part idea through the chapter on Ochre before I abandoned it. I love-love-love the concept, but couldn't mesh with the style of writing.
~ A Google user
This personal travel through the history of color is nice!!!
~ A Google user