3.8
Similar Books Like Bacchae Alternatives
Bacchae   
About: "[Woodruff's translation] is clear, fluent, and vigorous, well thought out, readable and forceful. The rhythms are right, ever-present but not too insistent or obvious. It can be spoken instead of read and so is viable as an acting ver; and it keeps the lines of the plot well focused. The Introduction offers a nice survey of critical approaches. The notes at the foot of the page are suitably brief and nonintrusive and give primary stats for the non-specialist." --Charles Segal, Harvard University"This is a very needed edition, awesome for classroom purposes. The translation is clear and lively, and few students commented on how much they enjoyed it. The introduction provides an awesome overview of the troubles in the test, as well as of earlier scholarship, making it a nice resource for more advanced classes. The cover picture is an added premium and provided the starting target for sti ... Show more
Genre: Drama / Ancient & Classical Rotten Tomatoes® score: 3.8 Audio language: English Authors: Euripides Publisher: Hackett Publishing
Books like Bacchae and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Bacchae but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Bacchae Similar Books

Bacchae similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Bacchae:
Similar Books Like Aeschylus II: The Oresteia Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Aeschylus II contains The Oresteia, translated by Richmond Lattimore, and fragments of Proteus, translated by Mark Griffith. Sixty years ago, the University of Chicago Press undertook a momentous project: a new translation of the Greek tragedies that would be the ultimate resource for teachers, students, and readers. They succeeded. Under the expert management of eminent classicists David Grene and Richmond Lattimore, those translations combined accuracy, poetic immediacy, and clarity of pre...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Aeschylus Publisher: University of Chicago Press

Similar Books Like The Greek Plays: Sixteen Plays by Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A landmark anthology of the masterpieces of Greek drama, featuring all-new, highly accessible translations of some of the worlds most beloved plays, including Agamemnon, Prometheus Bound, Bacchae, Electra, Medea, Antigone, and Oedipus the KingFeaturing translations by Emily Wilson,Frank Nisetich, Sarah Ruden, Rachel Kitzinger, Mary Lefkowitz, and James Romm The great plays of Ancient Greece are among the most enduring and important legacies of the Western world. Not only is the influence of Gr...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sophocles, Aeschylus, and Euripides Publisher: Modern Library

Similar Books Like The Burial at Thebes: A Version of Sophocles' Antigone Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Sophocles' play, first staged in the fifth century B.C., stands as a timely exploration of the conflict between those who affirm the individual's human rights and those who must protect the state's security. During the War of the Seven Against Thebes, Antigone, the daughter of Oedipus, learns that her brothers have killed each other, having been forced onto opposing sides of the battle. When Creon, king of Thebes, grants burial of one but not the "treacherous" other, Antigone defies his order, b...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sophocles Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Similar Books Like Medea Alternatives
Good alternative?
 
5.0

About: This is an English translation of Euripides' tragedy Medea based upon the myth of Jason and Medea and her revenge against her husband Jason. Focus Classical Library provides close translations with notes and essays to provide access to understanding Greek culture....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Euripides Publisher: Hackett Publishing

Similar Books Like Greek Tragedies 1: Aeschylus: Agamemnon, Prometheus Bound; Sophocles: Oedipus the King, Antigone; Euripides: Hippolytus Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Greek Tragedies, Volume I contains Aeschyluss Agamemnon, translated by Richmond Lattimore; Aeschyluss Prometheus Bound, translated by David Grene; Sophocless Oedipus the King, translated by David Grene; Sophocless Antigone, translated by Elizabeth Wyckoff; and Euripidess Hippolytus, translated by David Grene. Sixty years ago, the University of Chicago Press undertook a momentous project: a new translation of the Greek tragedies that would be the ultimate resource for teachers, stu...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Mark Griffith, Glenn W. Most, David Grene, and Richmond Lattimore Publisher: University of Chicago Press

 


Bacchae Reviews and Comments:

Shame on you all... You have NO right to have his face on this crap!!!
~ tina boettcher