NaN
Similar Books Like Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed Alternatives
Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed   
About: Artists around the globe have lately been turning to their bookshelves for more than just a nice read, opting to slash, paint, carve, stitch or otherwise transform the printed page into entire newest pretty, thought-provoking works of art. Art Made from Books is the definitive walkthrough to this compelling art form, showcasing groundbreaking work by today's most showstopping practitioners. From Su Blackwell's whimsical pop-up landscapes to the stacked-ebook sculptures of Kylie Stillman, every portfolio celebrates the wonderful constructive diversity of the medium. A preface by pioneering artist Brian Dettmer and an introduction by design critic Alyson Kuhn round out the collection.
Genre: Art / General Audio language: English Publisher: Chronicle Books
Books like Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed Similar Books

Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed:
Similar Books Like Learn Drawing Quickly Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A practical book with simple excercises showing the basics of drawing. Learning to draw is quicker and easier than you might think. This practical and concise book contains simple exercises and techniques to encourage you to start drawing, whether you want to be able to create a sketch, a visual diary of your holiday, or draw for sheer creative pleasure. Sharon Finmark covers the basics of drawing, sharing advice on texture, pattern and form. She shows how to achieve light and shade, solidity of...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sharon Finmark Publisher: Pavilion Books

Similar Books Like Drazí I / Dear all I: Dopisy Bohuslava Martinů rodině v Poličce do roku 1931 / Bohuslav Martinůs letters to his family in Polička until 1931 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Monografie je prvnm svazkem pipravovan edice zabvajc se korespondenc eskho hudebnho skladatele Bohuslava Martin s jeho rodinou v Police. Tento svazek obsahuje 61 nejstarch korespondennch dokument (dopisy, pohlednice a telegram) z obdob od jeho studentskch let na prask konzervatoi v letech 19061910 a po konec roku 1931. Jedn se o korespondenci jednostrannou, dochovaly se pouze dopisy Bohuslava Martin adresovan rodin, obdren dopisy skladatel vzhledem k velkmu rozsahu... Audio language: English Authors: Jaromír Synek and Gabriela Všetičková Publisher: Univerzita Palackého v Olomouci

Similar Books Like Leonardo’s Paradox: Word and Image in the Making of Renaissance Culture Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Leonardo da Vinci (14521519) was one of the preeminent figures of the Italian Renaissance. He was also one of the most paradoxical. He spent an incredible amount of time writing notebooks, perhaps even more time than he ever held a brush, yet at the same time Leonardo was Renaissance cultures most fanatical critic of the word. When Leonardo criticized writing he criticized it as an expert on words; when he was painting, writing remained in the back of his brilliant mind. In this book, Joost K...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Joost Keizer Publisher: Reaktion Books

Similar Books Like Titian’s Touch: Art, Magic and Philosophy Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: At the end of his long, prolific life, Titian was rumored to paint directly on the canvas with his bare hands. He would slide his fingers across bright ridges of oil paint, loosening the colors, blending, blurring, and then bringing them together again. With nothing more than the stroke of a thumb or the flick of a nail, Titians touch brought the world to life. The clinking of glasses, the clanging of swords, and the cry of a womans grief. The sensation of hair brushing up against naked flesh,...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Maria H. Loh Publisher: Reaktion Books

Similar Books Like Pieter Bruegel and the Idea of Human Nature Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: In sixteenth-century Northern Europe, during a time of increasing religious and political conflict, Flemish painter Pieter Bruegel explored how people perceived human nature. Bruegel turned his critical eye and peerless paintbrush to mankinds labors and pleasures, its foibles and rituals of daily life, portraying landscapes, peasant life, and biblical scenes in startling detail. Much like the great humanist scholar Erasmus of Rotterdam, Bruegel questioned how well we really know ourselves and a...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Elizabeth Alice Honig Publisher: Reaktion Books

Similar Books Like Leonardo da Vinci: Self Art and Nature Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This incisive and illuminating biography follows the three themes that shaped the life of Leonardo da Vinci and, through him, forever changed Western art and imagination: nature, art, and self-fashioning. Nature and art helped form Leonardo. He spent his first twelve years in the Tuscan countryside before entering the most reputed artistic workshop of Florence. There he blossomed as one of the most promising painters of his time and promptly applied his skills to explore and question the world ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: François Quiviger Publisher: Reaktion Books

Similar Books Like Theatre and Sexuality Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Why is it useful to look at theatre and performance through the lens of sexual identity? How has commercial theatre embraced gay and lesbian work? Theatre& Sexuality introduces critical methods and artistic practices that link drama, theatre and performance with minority sexualities in both the U.S. and UK. It narrates a select history of LGBTQ theatre from the early 20th century through today. Including an extended reading of Split Britches/Bloolips' production Belle Reprieve, the book offers c...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Jill Dolan Publisher: Macmillan International Higher Education

 

Similar Books Like A Companion to Museum Studies Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A Companion to Museum Studies captures the multidisciplinary approach to the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society. Collects first-rate original essays by leading figures from a range of disciplines and theoretical stances, including anthropology, art history, history, literature, sociology, cultural studies, and museum studies Examines the complexity of the museum from cultural, political, curatorial, historical and representational perspectives C...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sharon Macdonald Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Similar Books Like Madame Tussaud: A Life in Wax Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Millions have visited the museums that bear her name, yet few know much about Madame Tussaud. A celebrated artist, she had both a ringside seat at and a cameo role in the French Revolution. A victim and survivor of one of the most tumultuous times in history, this intelligent, pragmatic businesswoman has also had an indelible impact on contemporary culture, planting the seed of our obsession with celebrity. In Madame Tussaud, Kate Berridge tells this fascinating woman's complete story for the fi...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Kate Berridge Publisher: Harper Collins

Similar Books Like The Curse of Beauty: The Scandalous & Tragic Life of Audrey Munson, America's First Supermodel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The tumultuous and heartbreaking life of a world-famous model whose riveting story of beauty, fame, passion, murder, and madness in the Gilded Age captivated a nation.As America was stepping into the modern era, one great beauty became the artists model of choice. Her perfect form became the emblem of the Gilded Age and appears on the greatest monuments of New York and the nation. Supermodel, actress, iconher beauty paved the way for a life of glamour, passion, and ultimately tragedy. She date...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: James Bone Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Drawing on the Artist Within Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Whether you are a business manager, teacher, writer, technician, or student, you'll find Drawing on the Artist Within the most effective program ever created for tapping your creative powers. Profusely illustrated with hundreds of instructional drawings and the work of master artists, this book is written for people with no previous experience in art.AH-HA! I SEE IT NOW! Everyone has experienced that joyful moment when the light flashes on -- the Ah-Ha! of creativity.Creativity. It is the force ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Betty Edwards Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like I'll Be Your Mirror: The Selected Andy Warhol Interviews Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The Question-and-Answer interview was one of Andy Warhol's favorite communication vehicles, so much so that he named his own magazine after the form. Yet, never before has anyone published a collection of interviews that Warhol himself gave. I'll Be Your Mirror contains more then thirty conversations revealing this unique and important artist. Each piece presents a different facet of the Sphinx-like Warhol's ever-evolving personality. Writer Kenneth Goldsmith provides context and provenance for ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Kenneth Goldsmith Publisher: Da Capo Press

Similar Books Like Complete Printmaker Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: This revised and expanded edition takes the reader step by step through the history and techniques of over forty-five print-making methods.From the traditional etching, engraving, lithography, and relief print processes to todays computer prints, Mylar lithography, copier prints, water-based screen printing, helio-reliefs, and monotypes, The Complete Printmaker covers various aspects of fine printmaking. The book also includes a survey of issues and contemporary concerns in the printmakers worl...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: John Ross, Claire Romano, and Tim Ross Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Similar Books Like Silence: Lectures and Writings, 50th Anniversary Edition, Edition 2 Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Silence, John Cages first book and epic masterpiece, was published in October 1961. In these lectures, scores, and writings, Cage tries, as he says, to find a way of writing that comes from ideas, is not about them, but that produces them. Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching. Fifty years later comes a beautiful new edition with a foreword by eminent music critic Kyle Gann. A landmark book in Ame...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: John Cage Publisher: Wesleyan University Press

 

Similar Books Like Well-Read Women: Portraits of Fiction's Most Beloved Heroines Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: A treasure of a gift for the well-read woman, this collection brings together 50 stirring portraits, in watercolor and in word, of literature's most well-read female characters. Anna Karenina, Clarissa Dalloway, Daisy Buchanan...each seems to live on the page through celebrated artist Samantha Hahn's evocative portraits and hand-lettered quotations, with the pairing of art and text capturing all the spirit of the character as she was originally written....

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Samantha Hahn Publisher: Chronicle Books

Similar Books Like MUSICAGE: CAGE MUSES on Words * Art * Music Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "I was obliged to find a radical way to work -- to get at the real, at the root of the matter," John Cage says in this trio of dialogues, completed just days before his death. His quest for the root of the matter led him beyond the bounds of the conventional in all his musical, written, and visual pieces. The resulting expansion of the definition of art -- with its concomitant emphasis on innovation and invention--earned him a reputation as one of America's most influential contemporary artists.... Audio language: English Authors: John Cage and Joan Retallack Publisher: Wesleyan University Press

Similar Books Like Who I Am and What I Want Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Funny, urgent, bizarre, and honest pop artist David Shrigley's darkly hilarious scrawls from the subconscious have earned him a growing legion of fans around the world. In this mock autobiographical collection his mischievous drawings capture life's anxieties and ambitions from the mundane to the surreal. Here, at last, is The Truth about beer, doctors, shadow puppets, lunch, dolphins, boredom, and supernatural forces. Seductively strange and addictively amusing, this edgy book welcomes the unin...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Shrigley Publisher: Chronicle Books

 


Art Made from Books: Altered, Sculpted, Carved, Transformed Reviews and Comments: