NaN
Similar Books Like Afterland Alternatives
Afterland   
About: Babes of Lads meets The Handmaid's Tale in this "bowstring-taut, visceral, and incredibly timely" thriller about how far a mother will go to protect her son from a hostile globe transformed by the absence of lads (Cory Doctorow).Most of the lads are dead. Three years after the pandemic known as The Manfall, governments still keep and life continues -- but a globe run by girls isn't usually a better zone. Twelve-year-old Miles is one of the last lads alive, and his mother, Cole, will protect him at all costs. On the run after a horrific act of violence-and pursued by Cole's own ruthless sister, Billie -- all Cole wants is to raise her babe somewhere he won't be preyed on as a reproductive resource or a sex object or a stand-in son. Someplace like home. To obtain there, Cole and Miles gotta travel across a changed America in disguise as mother and daughter. From a military base in Seattle ... Show more
Genre: Fiction / Dystopian Audio language: English Authors: Lauren Beukes Publisher: Mulholland Books
Books like Afterland and more similar products, related items and free alternatives are given below. Rate each title from the list, write own review or vote for suggestions displayed on the list. Discover top best books that are like Afterland but before you make a choice, watch trailers, read opinions & explore your taste.

Afterland Similar Books

Afterland similar books recommendations, suggestions and related titles.

Trailer:
 
 
 Get it now:

 

 


Books Like Afterland:
Similar Books Like Arena One: Slaverunners (Book #1 of the Survival Trilogy) Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Shades of THE HUNGER GAMES permeate a story centered around two courageous teens determined to buck all odds in an effort to regain their loved ones. But the true strength in any story lies not so much in its setting and events as in how the characters come across, come alive, and handle their lives--and it's here that ARENA ONE begins to diverge from the predictable and enters the more compelling realms of believability and strength.ARENA ONE builds a believable, involving world and is recomm...

Trailer:
Audio language: Englis Authors: Morgan Rice Publisher: Morgan Rice

Similar Books Like The Handmaid's Tale Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Now a Hulu Original SeriesThe Handmaids Tale is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic of Gilead, a monotheocracy that has reacted to social unrest and a sharply declining birthrate by reverting to, and going beyond, the repressive intolerance of the original Puritans. The regime takes the Book of Genesis absolutely at its word, with bi...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Margaret Atwood Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Similar Books Like Blackfish City: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: One of the most intriguing future cities in years. Charlie Jane AndersSimmers with menace and heartache, suspense and wonder. Ann LeckieA Best Book of the Month inEntertainment WeeklyThe Washington PostTor.com B&N Sci-Fi Fantasy BlogAmazonAfter the climate wars, a floating city is constructed in the Arctic Circle, a remarkable feat of mechanical and social engineering, complete with geothermal heating and sustainable energy.The citys denizens have become accustomed to a roughshod new way...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sam J. Miller Publisher: HarperCollins

Similar Books Like Ready Player One Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Nominated as one of Americas best-loved novels by PBSs The Great American ReadThe worldwide bestsellernow a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.In the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as theOASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confinespuzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades pas...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Ernest Cline Publisher: Broadway Books

Similar Books Like FKA USA: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: Mr. King looks at all our upcoming problems, and imagines a local reaction to each one. The result is often funny, usually sardonic, and always imaginative, what with all the mole rats, flesh drones, dimeheads, and especially The Grifters Guide to the Territories FKA USA, a notable addition to the line of imaginary authorities.The Wall Street JournalIndie Next Pick for JulyBest of June: io9, AV Club, Amazing Stories, The VergeReed Kings amazingly audacious novel is something of a cross be...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Reed King Publisher: Flatiron Books

Similar Books Like Hell Divers III: Deliverance Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The New York Times and USA Today bestselling seriesThey will dive, but will humanity survive?Left for dead on the nightmarish surface of the planet, Commander Michael Everhart and his team of Hell Divers barely escape with their lives aboard a new airship called Deliverance. After learning that Xavier "X" Rodriguez may still be alive, they mount a rescue mission for the long-lost hero.In the skies, the Hive is falling apart, but Captain Jordan is more determined than ever to keep humanity in the...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Nicholas Sansbury Smith Publisher: Blackstone Publishing

Similar Books Like Blue Ticket: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: "[Mackintosh's]writing is clear and sharp, with piercing moments of wisdom and insight that drive toward a pitch-perfect ending...Blue Ticket adds something new to the dystopian tradition set by Orwells 1984or Atwoods The Handmaids Tale.--New York Times Book ReviewFrom the author of the Man Booker Prize longlisted novel The Water Cure ("ingenious and incendiary"--The New Yorker) comes another mesmerizing, refracted vision of our society: What if the life you're given is the wrong one?Calla ...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: Sophie Mackintosh Publisher: Doubleday

 

Similar Books Like Utopia Avenue: A Novel Alternatives
Good alternative?
 

About: The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling, prize-winning author ofCloud AtlasandThe Bone Clocks.New York Times Book ReviewEditors Choice Mitchells rich imaginative stews bubble with history and drama, and this time the flavor is a blend of Carnaby Street and Chateau Marmont.The Washington Post A sheer pleasure to read . . . Mitchells prose is suppler and richer than ever . . . Making your way through this novel feels like riding a high-end convertible down Hollywood Boulevar...

Trailer:
Audio language: English Authors: David Mitchell Publisher: Random House

 


Afterland Reviews and Comments:

In this intriguing and all too timely near-future thriller from South African originator Beukes (The Shining Women), human culgoa virus, “a highly contagious flu that turns into an aggressive prostate ...
~ A Google user
I have enjoyed Lauren Beukes' ebooks very much in the past. She is constructive, insightful, and her writing style is unbelievable. I especially liked Broken Creatures (so nice at dialogue) and Zoo Town (so ...
~ A Google user